Reviews For 18. 2009 September Challenge: September 22

You must login (register) to review.


Reviewer: Himring (Signed)
09/14/16 - 01:33 am
Elf-Writing

I felt very much for that poor hunted young elf.

The second part had me confused at first, because it could not be Tolkien himself, but was so like him in some ways--it was only in the end that you revealed the connection!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
09/16/10 - 12:56 pm
Yew

Aw, what a sweet and sad goodbye!  And yet, of course, you had to keep everything the way it happened. I suppose the story's nearing an end-- I'll be sad to see that happen!

I wonder if Pippin ever gets to see Yew again?



Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked their goodbye.  I was sorry it had to be so short, poor Pip and Yew didn't get to say much to each other.

Yes, we are nearing the end, especially since I'm hoping that chapter 16 will be the last.

I don't know if they'll meet again, but it will be its own short story if they do ;-)

 

Thank you for the kind response, Dreamflower!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
09/09/10 - 08:02 am
Yew

"Something dark was coming. A quick vision of a mighty dragon tortured and in chains flitted through his mind as the gate opened and closed."

How I love this description of the Ring! So Yew has overheard.  I wonder what Gandalf will make of that?  I'm sure he will be able to know if Yew knows!



Author's Response:

Well, the vision was Ring caused but I was meaning that he was seeing Glaurung, Father of Dragons, under the power of Morgoth. Sauron is really only Morgoth's slave and so the evil in the Ring is just a continuation of Morgoth's evil.

But, hey, it does work well for the Ring as well! I can imagine the Ring's power showing up to Yew as something that would torture a full grown dragon.

I hadn't thought about Gandalf knowing Yew has over heard. Interesting point!

Thank you so much for reading and commenting, Dreamflower. :-)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Traveller (Signed)
01/29/10 - 03:50 pm
One Fine Autumn Day

Aww, baby Bilbo!  And poor Bungo- he wants so much to make Belladonna happy but just can't seem to get it right!  She is very lucky to have someone so devoted to her feelings.  I also loved Gerontius- he played the "wise father-in-law" role very well!  Out of curiousity, is the green blanket for boy babies a canon tradition, or one that you have created for your stories?  Adorable story!

-Traveller

[Report This]


Reviewer: Cathleen (Signed)
01/21/10 - 03:32 pm
Yew

Heehee, what indeed *do* they do with him now? This is a great story, Pearl, I can't wait to see how you conclude it!!

Author's Response:

Thank you, Cathleen. I want to find out how it ends too.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Cathleen (Signed)
01/21/10 - 03:26 pm
Yew

Eeek! So *that's* why the tavern "Horse and Waggon" stuck in my head for some reason! I used it in my new challenge story, Pearl, I hope you don't mind. I will credit it to you, of course. Aside from that, this was a great chapter! Loved the idea of Paladin getting all excited as he realised what was up with Yew.

Author's Response:

I think it's cool that that name stuck with you! Our minds are fascinating things.

It was quite the shock to Paladin's system. ;-)

Thank you for the wonderful comments.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Cathleen (Signed)
01/21/10 - 03:23 pm
Yew

Well, *I* didn't figure it out ahead! So, it was a very nice surprise and I loved this chapter!!

Author's Response:

I'm so glad you didn't. :-) and I'm glad you thought is a nice surprise.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Cathleen (Signed)
01/21/10 - 03:21 pm
Yew

This little guy is sure growing fast. And now, more mystery with the missing items and questions about Yew. Love the moment where Pip is reading to his pet!

Author's Response:

It is getting curiouser and curiouser ;-)

Pippin just wants to share adventures with his pet, what better way than by reading.

Thank you for commenting, Cathleen! :-)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Cathleen (Signed)
01/21/10 - 03:18 pm
Yew

I like the way Pippin and his father are working together on a cage and that Eglantine helped nurse Yew back to health. Pervinca is a brat, lol! On to the next chapter....

Author's Response:

I like to think Pippin's family would be like this. I do have a rather bratty Pervinca. LOL

[Report This]


Reviewer: Cathleen (Signed)
01/21/10 - 03:00 pm
Yew

Now, obviously something odd is going on here. Hmm....

Author's Response:

A rather placid lizzard, isn't he?

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
12/03/09 - 01:14 pm
Yew

Love this chapter!  *grin* Bilbo is so funny, claiming to know everything that happens in Bag End!  I also loved Yew's indignance at being called "miniature".

Quite an encounter! I look forward to figuring out where Gandalf sends the little fellow, and how it ends up!



Author's Response: Aw, bless you and thank you m'dear. I think we have a way to go yet, at least three more chapters. At least I know where it is heading :-) Thank you so much, Dreamflower for following this dragon's tale! Hugs, Pearl

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
10/20/09 - 07:12 pm
Yew

I'm copying my LJ review here:

Good for Gandalf!

I love the idea that the Dwarves came up with "Dragon's eggs" as a childrens' toy, and that they did not know it was real-- I had wondered what on earth they'd be doing with a real dragon's egg!

I'm wondering how Gandalf is going to handle this-- I have a very silly, cracky idea, but I'm sure you will come up with a believable solution! And just to add-- I am really looking forward to the rest!

Author's Response: Quite all right to copy :-) You're a dear to respond in two places. The toys were one of those serendipitous things that popped into my head and it worked well since we are told there were gifts and toys of Dwarf make given at The Party. It really wouldn't be quite right for lads to fight the Battle of the Five Armies without a Smaug to battle first. After you find out my version, I would love to hear your silly, cracky one. :-) Thank you so much for looking forward to the rest of the story.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
10/01/09 - 04:43 pm
Yew

I love the way Gandalf is his usual "close" self-- not disclosing anything to the curious Bilbo and Frodo.  I also love the bit about his dropping his pipe when he *did* see what Paladin wanted, and the way he went straight to the Dwarves to find out what was going on.

But I do hope he's not planning to give Yew back to the Dwarves! Yew would not care for *that* at all!



Author's Response: Hi Dreamflower! I'm glad my Gandalf is as he should be. In his role in ME he's had a lot of secrets to keep, so he has lots of practice. I don't think he'll hand the poor dragon over to the Dwarves, he has more sense than that. ;-)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
09/14/09 - 04:35 pm
Yew

What a polite and well-spoken young dragon Yew is! And clearly, he's not related to Smaug or Glauraung or Ancalagon the Black!  He's very honorable.

But deciding what to do with him?  That's not going to be easy.

Poor Pippin.



Author's Response: Perhaps, he's too young to be too arrogant yet. LOL I like to think it is because he's been amongst the family of Paladin Took. I'll have to remember to have a scene with how Pippin feels about it all and how he handles it. Thank you so much, Dreamflower, for you wonderful comments and encouragement. :-)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
09/08/09 - 12:51 pm
Yew

Oh, I love that Paladin is clever enough to figure it all out before Pippin tells him! 

I wonder what the Dwarves were doing with a dragon's egg...



Author's Response: Yes, he's a clever fellow, old Paladin. You would wonder that, wouldn't you? LOL I didn't ask and they didn't say. ;-) Thank you so much for reading and commenting, Dreamflower. :-)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
09/02/09 - 09:22 pm
Yew

Well, the shinies going missing were a pretty big clue!

My favorite part, though, was Pippin's confrontation with Vinca, and his threatening her with "poop"-- which would probably have worked on one of his other sisters (though they probably would not have taken Yew in the first place) and then this bit:

Red in the face and out of ideas, Pippin's station as the baby of the family asserted itself.

"Mama! Mama!" he yelled as he ran from his sister's room. "Vinca stole Yew!"

Lanti did what most wise mothers do at this point . . . she took the object of contention, said "He's mine for now.", put Yew into one of her shopping baskets that had a lid, then told the children their father would settle the matter when he came in

Now *why* did that sound oh so very familiar? Oh yes, I recall-- I had a younger sister and brother myself...



Author's Response: Yes the shinies getting filched was a biggie, but, oh well it was necessary. The only way I was coming up with any ideas was to keep asking myself what dragons were like and what did they do. I'm so glad you liked that part! I only had an older brother, but I remember such exchanges and ending up frustrated that I couldn't out reason him and resorting to running to mama. Then, of course, I was on the "mama" end of it with my own two kids. Thank you, Dreamflower, for such a lovely comment! I'm so glad you're enjoying this story.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
08/24/09 - 11:06 am
Yew

I just love all the work and effort put into making Yew's new cage.  I think Paladin must have had just as much fun as Pippin building it!

I'm glad he likes his new home-- but Vinca's insistance that he's "hers" if he gets out worries me just a little!



Author's Response: Thank you so much, Dreamflower! Yes, I think it was a labor of love, not so much for Yew, but between father and son. Vinca is like that, yes she is. hehehe. I really don't know where things are going, so we'll have to see if she ends up a problem or not. Thanks again! Pearl

[Report This]


No results found.

You must login (register) to review.