Reviews For Ancestress

You must login (register) to review.


Reviewer: Certh (Signed)
11/09/13 - 10:45 am
Conversations About the Past, Part 2

A lovely little chapter of introspection!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Certh (Signed)
11/09/13 - 04:45 am
Conversations About the Past, Part 2

I rather liked the melancholy tone of this chapter, and the pensive mood was definitely thought-inducing. The permanent parting that is death is never easy to accept. And there was some significance to the fact it was Celebrian Frodo spoke to about his fears, seeing that her ordeal with the Orcs led her to be parted from her family for more than half a millenium. She would know about blessings and callousness. At least that's my interpretation.



Author's Response:

This one was supposed to be "Conversations about the Present, part 1"! I will have to fix that!

I was certainly going for a melancholy and pensive tone; the next few chapters will, I hope maintain that tone. And you have certainly pinpointed one of the reasons I have Frodo and Celebrian become such close friends. There is an understanding between them that being healed does not make the past go away, it just puts it into perspective.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Certh (Signed)
10/26/13 - 06:47 am
Conversations About the Past, Part 1

I do like the story-teller Bilbo! Looking very much forward to his tale!



Author's Response:

And it looks as though it somehow got skipped. I seem to have accidentally skipped a chapter ahead--though I got the title right.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Certh (Signed)
10/26/13 - 06:42 am
A Drop of Fancy in the Blood

Oh, perfect! More detail on genealogy. Yes, no doubt Sam will be flabbergasted! :)



Author's Response:

He will be given "an eye-opener and no mistake"!! ;)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Certh (Signed)
10/26/13 - 06:38 am
The Sketchbook, part 2

Beautiful. Adamanta recognised Merry, Pippin and Sam because they resembled her own children - their ancestors, correct? And it's only just struck me that kali, raz and ban are shortened forms of Merry, Pippin and Sam's names! What a wonderful way to establish a strong connection between the six Hobbits.



Author's Response:

Yes indeed! And of course you are right about the names. Of course, there was much mingling of the Took line over the centuries, but the implication is that those three are direct descendants. (And BTW, one of her sons was also named "Maura".)

[Report This]


Reviewer: pandemonium_213 (Signed)
10/16/12 - 05:54 pm
The Sketchbook, part 2

Now why do I get the feeling that Adamanta is seeing hobbits that may very well be ancestors of Merry, Pippin, and Sam?  Love the use of the "original" hobbit names!



Author's Response:

Because you are right! *grin*

I determined early on that since this was supposed to be way back in time, it would justify using those "historical" names, though I used abbreviated forms so as not to be too obvious--only Maura got the actual full name. But then, Frodo never used a nickname as Sam, Merry and Pip did!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Certh (Signed)
09/21/12 - 01:56 am
The Sketchbook, part 1

This little chapter just made my day. Such a vivid and perfect imagery, so detailed; it was like watching the scene from a spot in the garden. The merry faces of Gandalf and the hobbits, Frodo laughing - it all made for a truly, wonderfully cheerful picture.



Author's Response:

Thanks! The 300 word count can feel a little constricting at times--I often feel description suffers when I have to cut and cut to get the word count down. But I am so glad that the mood and the scene I hoped to create came through!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Certh (Signed)
09/14/12 - 05:21 am
The Upward Path

It's so nice to see Frodo begin to heal!



Author's Response:

Yes, Frodo's healing is a very important part of this story.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Certh (Signed)
09/12/12 - 12:46 am
Watched Over

A very sweet chapter fille with hope.



Author's Response:

Thank you!

[Report This]


Reviewer: curiouswombat (Signed)
08/07/12 - 03:27 pm
A Lesson for Adamanta, (part 1)

Oh my!  Poor Adamanta - not a hobbitty way to impress the in-laws....



Author's Response:

No, not at all, poor dear!

[Report This]


Reviewer: pandemonium_213 (Signed)
07/06/12 - 06:54 pm
Life By the Sea

I loved ready these recent chapters as Adamanta recounts her three younger children, in particular the chapters that focused on Bildad and Maura.  Hat's off to putting yourself into Adamanta's head when she remembers the experience of a difficult birth, the new experience of a body that isn't quite performing the way it ought, and the possibility that her child might die, too.  That was very well done and sensitively portrayed.  

Maura's chapter was VERY interesting!  In 300 words, you roused my curiosity about the character!  

And Life by the Sea was just the peaceful interlude I need right now what with...well, you know.  Someone got a grin out of the reference to correspondence but wonders who the others might be!



Author's Response:

Oh, I'm so glad you liked the last few "children" chapters!

Adamanta's experience of giving birth had gone remarkably well considering the number of children she had borne, and so I thought it was time for her to have a little difficulty-- actually more than a little, yet it was also important to me for this experience, considering whose ancestor Bildad is (note the name, LOL.)

And of course, Maura's name gives a clue to his descendant as well. I am afraid that my Middle-earth genetics are more mystical than scientific!

I needed a peaceful interlude myself. I still feel, well...you know.

Bilbo has yet to tell me who the others are, if he ever will, but I have a sneaky suspicion that one of them is Finrod.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
06/09/12 - 05:10 pm
Adamanta's Children: Kali and Ban

You know, for some reason I imagine THE tone as the same one Pearl, Pimpernel or Pervinca would use when Pip's been up to something...Twin lads, oh dear...LOL! I wonder if she had twin lasses as well...*waits (semi)-patiently*

 



Author's Response:

What? "M-o-o-o-ther!!!!"?  Said with a shrill and annoyed whine perfected by big sisters everywhere?  *grin* 

Just be patient a little longer and you will see...

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
06/09/12 - 05:09 pm
Adamanta's Children: Addie

Aww, poor Addie! I do hope Galasgil will return and visit! :)



Author's Response:

We shall see what we shall see! *grin*

[Report This]


Reviewer: pandemonium_213 (Signed)
06/09/12 - 12:24 pm
Adamanta's Children: Addie

This is a charming way of showing how literacy (and the love of lore and script) made its way into the Took clan and their descendants. 

She cried throughout the night for the first several months of her life.

Heh.  Wonder if Adamanta had a secon though or two about incarnation at that point? ;^)



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I am trying to scatter several traits found among certain prominent hobbit families throughout the twelve children.  You can imagine that with that many children, that sooner or later there will be a lot of intermarriages among the descendants once they are enough farther down the family tree to avoid consanguinity!  This would serve to reinforce certain traits among some of them...

It's possible! LOL!

Two more kids up, now!

[Report This]


Reviewer: pandemonium_213 (Signed)
06/09/12 - 12:22 pm
Adamanta's Children: Raz

"Little Tûk."  Heh.  A chip off the old block, eh?   

He would pepper his father with questions that he was hard put to answer.

I love that.  I like to imagine that characteristic had strong penetrance (as they say in genetics) and made its way through the generations to the Tooks of the late Third Age/early Fourth Age.



Author's Response:

Yes.  I don't see why not, since such abilities as nobility, foresight and healing hands manage to persist in the Numenorean line! LOL!  It's clear that in Arda genetics are a much stronger influence than they are in the "Real World".  (Though perhaps not in the Pande!verse, LOL!)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
11/29/11 - 10:59 am
Adamanta's Children: Raz

Little Tuk! How sweet! :) I expect Pip's a direct-line descendant of this one! Heh! *grin*



Author's Response:

You would guess right-- eldest son to eldest son, in point of fact, (just like a certain Dunadan of Pippin's acquaintance is from his ancestor) although there will be some more intermingling of the cadet lines with his down the generations, when the descendants are no longer such close kin.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
11/29/11 - 10:58 am
Adamanta's Children: Briar Rose

Briar Rose sounds like a delightful child! :) I can't wait to hear more! (Luckily I don't have to wait to read the next chapter, but then...)



Author's Response:

True. You don't. *grin*

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
11/29/11 - 10:57 am
Luncheon Conversation (part 2)

Yes, indeed! And what faithful reader is averse to hearing all about them? Not this one. *grin* I am thrilled to hear all about them! *says the genealogy obsessed Kaylee* hehehe...



Author's Response:

Yes, I am beginning to suspect your obsession!  Are you SURE you don't have any hobbit ancestors? LOL!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
11/29/11 - 10:56 am
Luncheon Conversation, (part 1)

I wonder how many generations that is! But I, like Galadriel, feel Adamanta still had a part to play in Frodo and Bilbo's successes.



Author's Response:

I'm sure she did.  But she would much prefer to give all the credit to her Tuk!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
11/29/11 - 10:55 am
A Mother is a Mother Still

Awwww. That's all I can say to that! =) That memory's lovely.



Author's Response:

That just popped into my head one day, a little scene with Primula and Frodo, but I had no idea where to put it, until this chapter came up!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
11/29/11 - 10:54 am
An Introduction

*laughs* I love your summary of Galadriel here...of course, I love Galadriel generally, as perhaps you could tell by my pen name. *grin* And Adamanta's great-grandsons! I think she omitted a few 'greats'...or would that be a few hundred greats?



Author's Response:

"Remained the same and yet changed a great deal"?  I think that's probably how Mirime would percieve her.  But of course, Galadriel's pretty perceptive about Mirime, too!

Oh quite a few "greats" were admitted!  I've no intention of ever specifying the exact number of generations, however.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
11/29/11 - 10:52 am
Over Hill, Over Dale

Learning what it's like to be hungry! That must have been an incredible new sensation, lol! But I like apples too :)

(Especially French apple pie! *grin* I wonder what Mirime/Adamanta thought of her first apple pie!)



Author's Response:

I think all sensations were new to her; a hobbit-form was much more "earthy" than that of an Elven-form, and a mortal form much more sensitive to physical senses! (At least that's my idea about it.)

I'm sure she found her first pie delicious!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
11/29/11 - 10:48 am
An Invitation

Well, of course our hobbits will accept THAT invitation!! Hehe!! =)



Author's Response:

Certainly!  And it's not like it's difficult, since they are basically living in his "house", just as Bilbo did in Rivendell!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
11/29/11 - 10:41 am
Mark’d I Where the Bolt of Cupid Fell

And so it really begins! I love Adamanta's meeting with Tuk of the Fallohides (sorry, I have no idea how to make my keyboard like doing accent things...) and I'm excited to read more about her life with him! What's Tuk's father's name, do you know?



Author's Response:

That's OK.  I can't either if I am not on a word-processing program. I've no idea how to do it in the archive text-box.

Tuk's father is Buk. (with the "accent things", LOL!)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
11/29/11 - 10:38 am
Nothing Ventured, Nothing Gained

Hehe, that's a surprise! I wonder if Arien could see her 'sister' down there, basking in Anor's light? 



Author's Response:

Perhaps.  It's a sweet thought!

[Report This]



You must login (register) to review.