Reviews For A Journey through Arda

You must login (register) to review.


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
11/20/11 - 10:06 pm
Building on the Ruins

This is really nice! I love seeing his reactions to their reactions!  I'm so glad you posted about this one!



Author's Response:

Gee whiz--how did I miss this, Barbara?  Yes, I think that on his return to his own people young Aragorn would have been already gauging the responses of others, learning what he could by watching closely, and finding the ones willing to befriend him.  Thanks so!

(Am still going through to see how many such posts "Lester" left me!)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Adonnen Estenniel (Signed)
11/17/11 - 04:43 pm
Building on the Ruins

What an awkward moment this must have been for everyone! I really enjoyed how you showed the uncertainty of the scene, but at the same time allowed the characters' true selves come through in the end as they got over their inhibitions. The nod to Halbarad (or I assume the young man is Halbarad) was well-done, and I think it shows a promising start to what will become a lasting friendship.



Author's Response:

I'm sure that Aragorn's survival in Rivendell was a most carefully guarded secret, and with good reason.  That being so, his return had to have been carefully orchestrated, with as many of the elders of the northern Dunedain as possible there to make certain that all were assured that this was the real heir to Arathorn, and that they weren't being gulled.  And, yes, the youth is Halbarad.  It must have been difficult for all involved to assimilate all the implications of the return of Aragorn to his people, and both he and they would have needed some reassurance.  I'd love to imagine that Halbarad sought to give his newly discovered cousin that reassurance.

Thanks so for reading this!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Adonnen Estenniel (Signed)
03/27/11 - 11:54 am
The Land of their Dreams

I loved how you incorporated both the prompt and the location into this piece. Perhaps because of the way Rohan always strikes readers as less of a spiritual place (as opposed to Gondor, for instance), the idea of these people having dreams seems especially charming. Your portrayal of Eorl was well-done, and I enjoyed how you took this back to the very beginning of Rohan's history here.



Author's Response:

Thank you so.  I've tried to work both prompt and location into each of these stories, if only by mention.  It's been a most interesting enterprise, I must admit.  And I'm glad I finally found a way to write to Eorl's character as I have so many others.  All have dreams for the future, and I am glad this struck a chord in you!  Again, thanks so, AE.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Adonnen Estenniel (Signed)
03/26/11 - 08:07 pm
Subtlety

Poor Gríma. I've always held that he was misunderstood and cast into a rather bad light because of the flims. You showed a more personable aspect of his character here, one that induces sympathy rather than hatred or disgust. You did a wonderful job here.



Author's Response:

Well, by choosing to follow Saruman he did himself no favors, I fear.  He's allowing himself to be corrupted, and thus completes the process of assuring that Eowyn will NEVER look at him with any favor, I fear.

Thanks so!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Adonnen Estenniel (Signed)
03/26/11 - 07:59 pm
Caught in a Web

I liked the sweeter tone of the prompt. Seduction often has negative connotations, but I enjoyed how you made this pleasant and willing. Excellent!



Author's Response:

I'm glad you appreciate it.  No, not all seduction is negative in nature, and this one was so blessed, and particularly when it began.

Thank you so, Adonnen Estenniel.

[Report This]


Reviewer: SurgicalSteel (Signed)
03/18/11 - 12:45 pm
The Wedding Breakfast

Given his newlywed status, I've got to say that I'm impressed that Sam's got enough blood going to his brain to get out of bed and make breakfast. ;)



Author's Response:

Well, what else do you expect from our beloved, so-responsible Samwise?  Heh!  Thanks so, SS!

[Report This]


Reviewer: SurgicalSteel (Signed)
03/18/11 - 12:35 pm
In Defiance

I really get a sense of anger and a sense of betrayal between these two.

I've got to say, though, that the switching back and forth between Quenya and Sindarin in Valinor at a time when no one in Valinor would have even heard of Sindarin sort of threw me.



Author's Response:

Sorry--I take it you are finding "gwador" and "muindor" Sindarin--I admit I'm not the best in fully appreciating the differences in vocabulary.  I did try to keep to the Quenyan forms as much as possible.  Was following Fiondil's lead, although he does have those who've returned either physically or by rebirth from Middle Earth using Sindarin a fair amount, and particularly with other returnees to Aman.  I'd appreciate corrections, as you know!

And I do think that there must have been some who felt this sense of betrayal when they realized that those left behind would have to make the longer journey over the ice now.  It must have been quite difficult for many once their fury at the refusal of the Teleri to lend them their ships had cooled and they realized what they'd become.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
03/01/11 - 03:11 pm
Caught in a Web

oh, you had me so confused until the end! It's Elu Thingol! Or Elwe, as he was probably still called at that point; Elwe Singollo. I love it! (One *very* minor nitpick...I think the Quenya name is spelled Melyanna, not Melianna, though her name is Melian.) 

 

Well crafted, just like a web itself, drawing the reader in!

 

Kaylee



Author's Response:

Thanks so for the correction--it has been made.  And thanks also for the compliment.  Now--am caught up at last!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Ellynn (Signed)
03/01/11 - 02:35 pm
Caught in a Web

Gentle and poetic. Well done!



Author's Response:

Thank you so, Ellyn.  Poetic, you say?  I'm so glad you think so!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Celeritassagittae (Signed)
03/01/11 - 02:27 pm
Caught in a Web

I always loved this image in the Silm.  Thanks for sharing this.



Author's Response:

And thank you for the response!

[Report This]



You must login (register) to review.