Reviews For B2MEM 2011 Challenge Responses

You must login (register) to review.


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
04/06/11 - 08:15 pm
Day Thirty-One: Folly

It does appear to be steamships, skyscrapers, and missiles to me, also.  It's always interesting seeing how Arda evolved in the Master's mind, I find.

Thanks for an interesting series! 



Author's Response:

Glad you found it interesting!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
04/06/11 - 08:10 pm
Day Thirty: Home

A most happy expatriate she will be, it appears.  Living in margaritaville, apparently....



Author's Response:

Not precisely margaritaville - but there will be adult beverages of that nature involved, ;)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
04/06/11 - 08:02 pm
Day Twenty-Nine: Memoir

I can appreciate how writing out the demons of memory worked for him.  Well done.



Author's Response:

Thank you!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
04/06/11 - 07:59 pm
Day Twenty-Eight: Missive

Oh, but I love seeing this, when Denethor was made to eat crow!  Heh!



Author's Response:

Thank you!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
04/06/11 - 07:57 pm
Day Twenty-Seven: Reinstatement

At least he's willing to get straight and hopefully stay there.  Hitting bottom appears to have happened, and hopefully he's done with bouncing.



Author's Response:

He's pretty much done with bouncing, yep!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
04/06/11 - 07:49 pm
Day Twenty-Six: Ink

Tattooing isn't my thing at all, but I appreciate his feelings.  Try being ACB in an area where the NFB predominates!



Author's Response:

I'm afraid I don't know what you mean by ACB and NFB - but thanks anyway!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
04/06/11 - 10:36 am
Day Twenty-Five: On the Brink

He did not do well, bringing Sauron back as a captive.  Nicely done!



Author's Response:

Thanks!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
04/06/11 - 10:32 am
Day Twenty-Four: Fate

I love the reference to the tale you wrote of the accidental visit to the far side of Aman, and appreciate why these felt they should flee not only the possible wrath of the Valar but of the queen as well.  Glad to see how these two princesses managed to get off of Numenor.



Author's Response:

Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
04/06/11 - 03:19 am
Day Twenty-Three: The Tower

Well, he's come back up in the world, Haldanar has.  Love the resurgence of the joke about Halbarad's name.



Author's Response:

There's a piece from later in the month about just how Haldanar got back into Rivendell.

And thanks again for reading!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
04/06/11 - 03:15 am
Day Twenty-Two: Beans

Sauron well deserves the curses he is granted, I think.  Poor Elrond gets the brunt of the complaints, and deals with them manfully, at least.  Like this one.



Author's Response:

Thanks, but I'm not certain what you mean by the 'curses granted to Sauron.' I went back and re-checked - no one's cursing Sauron in this piece, just the beans. ;)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
04/06/11 - 03:09 am
Day Twenty-One: Current

Alas that he has lost all.  The Ring has betrayed him, and the orcs lie in wait....

At least Ulmo will be able to keep It dampered somewhat.



Author's Response:

Yes, he has. Isildur's death was tragic.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
04/06/11 - 03:05 am
Day Twenty: Decision

This captain does not sound as if he was a shining example of the Faithful, so I like the title she give him.  And I must assume a few would remember Pharazon and Zimrephil with kind thoughts.  Certainly to Azrindil they are PEOPLE first.

I do rejoice that her family does well now, in spite of the tidal wave.



Author's Response:

I like to think that the people on both sides were just that: people. And that means that on both sides you'd have decent people and not-so-decent people.

Thank you for reading!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
04/06/11 - 02:31 am
Day Nineteen: Interview

Ah!  Glad to see Nemir getting a proper sickbay set up, and that he is going to get along well with Zamin.



Author's Response:

Thanks!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
04/06/11 - 02:21 am
Day Eighteen: Unexpected Welcome

Home again, and getting what for while his suffering wife at least gets the aid and welcome she needs so deeply.  Poor Nemir!  Poor Azrindil, too, although she will recover.



Author's Response:

They both will - and they'll have some happier times, too. :)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
04/06/11 - 02:15 am
Day Seventeen: Birthday

okay...



Author's Response:

I'm not entirely certain what you mean, but thank you for reading and commenting!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
04/06/11 - 02:00 am
Day Sixteen: Lighthouse

Hmm.  Did she do a portrait of Ar-Pharazon, then?  Lovely to think of the great lighthouse being rebuilt, and on a cooperative basis!



Author's Response:

If you think I'm answering about the portrait, then you don't know me very well. ;)

And thank you!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
03/29/11 - 11:43 am
Day Fifteen: Peasant Food

Oh, but he is a truly devious sort, isn't he?  Love it!



Author's Response:

Yes, he is - and there's more of him in other pieces, both here and on the fic-LJ. :)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
03/29/11 - 11:37 am
Day Fourteen: Tolerance

The tale of the Order of Fred is hilarious.  We had a pig elected Homecoming Queen, so I have to feel with them!  But to see Morgoth worshiped at all would be disturbing!



Author's Response:

Of course it would - for those who don't worship him. For those who do, it would be equally disturbing to have their religion made illegal.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
03/29/11 - 11:32 am
Day Thirteen: Playing Politics

At least she does keep informed!  She does appear happy with her choice of mates....



Author's Response:

I got rather tired a while back of reading what seems to be the standard fanon interpretation of Numenor's final king and queen, and was delighted to find a variant take on them within canon (in The History of the Akallabeth in Peoples of Middle-earth) - that she willingly married him. I find it more emotionally satisfying to write him as a basically decent but flawed individual who was honestly doing what he thought was best for his country than as a power-mad sadist.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
03/29/11 - 11:27 am
Day Twelve: Closet

Trust boys to think of that!

Although, as the mother of a kid who turned out to be one of those capable of becoming addicted to pot, I DON'T condone their enterprise at all!  My kid coming off of pot was as bad as most junkies coming off of heroin.



Author's Response:

I'm sorry that your family had that experience!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
03/29/11 - 11:22 am
Day Eleven: Gamble

It is a major gamble, of course.  I so hope that it works!



Author's Response:

Well, the answer to that is sort of on my fic-LJ. :)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
03/29/11 - 11:15 am
Day Ten: Bittersweet

I can't say I blame her at all!  Elendur and his half-brother are now both born.  Three more brothers at least yet to come.  Yes, definitely a best and worst holiday!



Author's Response:

Thank you!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
03/29/11 - 11:11 am
Day Nine: Loyalty

I rejoice that Zimrathon found his integrity was stronger than his loyalty to those he knows acted wrongly.  He will do well in Gondor, should he choose to change nations.



Author's Response:

Well, he might - or he might not. He's from the 'enemy' side, after all, so it might be very easy for the common soldier in Gondor to think of him as a traitor to his own people and therefore completely untrustworthy. That plotbunny hasn't nibbled yet.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
03/29/11 - 02:57 am
Day Eight: Throw Me Something, Mister!

Well, of COURSE they mean that!  Heh!



Author's Response:

Glad you enjoyed!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
03/29/11 - 02:49 am
Day Seven: Help Me Sound Like Them

Hmm.  Sounds like a good idea!

Met a guy in Arkansas who sounded as if he came from the Midwest.  He explained he'd gotten into radio, and realized he had to get rid of his Ozark twang in order to be taken seriously in the business.  It apparently paid off well for him.

Love this exchange between the two of them.



Author's Response:

Thank you, I'm glad you enjoyed it!

[Report This]



You must login (register) to review.