Reviews For Fey

You must login (register) to review.


Reviewer: klose (Signed)
07/26/15 - 06:10 am
Being

I love this story so much! First of all, it's just great to have Faramir, Aragorn and Legolas friendship/interaction. Your characterisations of everyone feels so true to the characters we know and love from the books, while also fleshing them out further--Faramir, particularly! I also loved how you brought in both Mablung and Beregond (people seem to forget about either or both!). 

The mystery itself was well drawn out--started out strange but not yet harmful, but as the story progressed and the group got further into the Nindalf, everything got steadily more unsettling. You portray suspense so evocatively! 

I love the fact that the dream!Gimli turned out to be Gandalf. I smiled so much at that reveal because yes! Of course he would keep an eye on his old friends, and especially his old pupil (!!), even after he sailed West--and of course he would have the means of influencing them through dreams, since he had some association with Irmo. And through him your tackling of Faramir's darker inner demons was so deft--I think it can be easy to get heavy-handed with that (and many writers end up going that way), given that Faramir does have some dark things in his past to confront, but your more subtle take on it works much better for me, I think.

And of course Eowyn at the end watching over Faramir's bedside was great. I actually like that she wasn't in the fic proper because there aren't enough post-War fics that spotlight Faramir the way you've done, and because it gave us that lovely reunion at the end and fantastic lines like, "Gondor estimates travel by the standards of slow horses and cautious riders" :D 

This is such a perfect mix of mystery, adventure, friendship and a smidgeon of romance--thanks so much for sharing your amazing writing!

[Report This]


Reviewer: sian22 (Signed)
02/18/15 - 08:43 am
Dreaming

I just love your atmosphere in this and the whole idea..great job

[Report This]


Reviewer: Tarlo the Wanderer (Signed)
10/02/14 - 12:04 pm
Being

Very suspenseful! I love how it turns out to be Gandalf in the dreams... Gandalf and Faramir are two of my favorite charachters and I think you did a good job of capturing their personalities. Gandalf does often speak in riddles. ;) And nice ending. While reading the first few chapters, I was thinking, there better be a good ending for all this suspense. Great job.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Linda Hoyland (Signed)
08/09/11 - 10:22 pm
Dreaming

Thank you so much for such a great read! I loaded it on to my laptop upstairs and could not wait to get to bed to read more! The story was packed with good things.

 

I especially enjoyed the mystery and sense of menace, the Aragorn and Faramir scenes, Faramir's determination to save Aragorn and the revalation that dream Gimli was actually Gandalf and why Faramir was the only person who could save Aragorn.

I do hope you will write more Aragorn and Faramir stories in the future.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your review! I'm glad you enjoyed the read! I'll have to try writing Faramir and Aragorn again some day. They're a scary pair, but I discovered they were also a lot of fun to write. Thank you so much for all your encouragement! I've needed it!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Raksha The Demon (Signed)
08/06/11 - 12:56 am
Being

I thought, a few chapters back, that the dream-Gimli might turn out as you wrote him in this last chapter.  

I loved this chapter, and also the notion of Faramir accomplishing things that Aragorn could not.  The use of the Mewlips is ingenious.  Lovely reunion of Faramir and Eowyn at the end.

Great story!



Author's Response:

Hello again!

Huge thanks for your kind words! Like I said in my earlier response, I thought of you while writing this, and I actually got butterflies when I saw your name on a review. I was terrified that I hadn't done justice to the characters. I'm glad you liked the Mewlips. I've been wanting to play with them in a story for a while, but I hadn't worked out how until recently. As for Eowyn...she demanded a scene of some kind, so I let her wander in at the end. She was miffed but forgave me eventually. I think.

Many thanks again!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Raksha The Demon (Signed)
08/06/11 - 12:40 am
Dreaming

Ooooohhh - Faramir's having freaky dreams, even while he's awake!  Lovely Faramir/Aragorn interaction, too.  I'm running to the next chapter.



Author's Response:

Hey Raksha the Demon,

You and Linda Hoyland were the two people I kept thinking about while writing this story because you both have such wonderful Aragorn and Faramir stories. Hearing that you enjoyed my attempts at Faramir and Aragorn was really the compliment to end all compliments. Thank you SO much! You've made my day!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
08/05/11 - 02:13 pm
Dreaming

I haven't uploaded it here yet, so here's the SoA URL:

http://www.storiesofarda.com/chapterview.asp?sid=5641&cid=23759

BTW, I missed getting to the post office this week, but I hope to get your picture in the mail by Monday.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
08/05/11 - 10:13 am
Dreaming

I love "The Mewlips".  I think it was probably the creepiest thing JRRT ever wrote.  I did my own take on it once-- but it was much lighter and slightly humorous in the end. A different sort of treatment altogether.

But your take is, as I said, brilliant!

I have used present-tense very rarely: sometimes a story will just "come" that way, and when it does, it's almost always first person as well. It's just that certain stories flow better that way. I don't think this one would have been half as effective in third-person past-tense!  It really ratcheted up the atmosphere told this way.



Author's Response:

I'm kicking myself now, but apparently I missed your take on the Mewlips. What story was that? I need to read it! (Because clearly I don't have enough things to read already. I MUST get to your Narnia crossover this weekend! That's one of my big goals!)

I agree about present vs past tense. This story started in the latter because...well, that's my writing default. But before I got too far, I realized I needed something much more urgent and involving. That led to a rewrite in present tense, which was a lot harder and lot more different than I anticipated. But I learned much along the way, and that's always good.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Virodeil (Signed)
08/05/11 - 01:24 am
Being

Mewlips indeed! I thought I was wrong... and I thought they were only in the North... (The previous fanfic that I mentioned featured the Midgetwater as their dwelling; but I have never managed hunting down the canon reference to this particular race.) I'm... kind of glad and terrified at once that yet another fanfic featured these creatures so prevallently. :rueful: I'm never much for terrifying suspenseful tales, indeed... But you ensnared me into this story of yours so skillfully, and it was already too late when I realised I was trapped. LOL But truthfully, it was not so foul a trap as the Mewlips put on their victims! *shudder* I just hope I can sleep well tonight with their victims and dwelling in mind...

But this also gave me a spark of idea... Oh well.

I'm glad the question of Faramir's "flame" was answered here. And the scene between he and his wife was so sweet and cute, after all the horror and terror...

I never thought of Gandalf when I thought of the dream-Gimli, though. It's cliche as cliche goes, I guess, but I did think he was Aulë... Giving the task to Olórin was neat, though, and it pleases me that even though he had left, he still guarded and guided the peoples he had departed from... The signs were perhaps there, but I might've just been too blind to recognise them... A bad detective, I am! :rueful: :) I marvel that Olórin knew so much of Dwarves to impersonate one of them well... Or perhaps, he had only spent too much time in the company of that particular Dwarf...

Thank you for such an engaging read. This might not be quite my type of stories, but nonetheless I highly appreciate it, and if the MEFA nomination were yet going, I would have nominated it for this year... But as it is, I beg leave of you to nominate it for next year. :)

Rey

Author's Response:

Canon references to the mewlips can be found in "The Adventures of Tom Bombadil." It's a collection of poems that Tolkien claims were found throughout the Red Book but weren't included in the translation of LotR. They were mostly written by Bilbo, Sam, Frodo, and others who had the Red Book. Some are originals but some are older poems touched up for inclusion. "The Mewlips" is poem #9. It doesn't give a reference to where the Mewlips live except for saying their home is beyond the Merlock Mountains and the spider-shadows. I decided spider-shadows meant Mirkwood, hence Legolas eventually recognizing them but being surprised to find them so far south. And Bilbo might have heard about them in Lake-town and brought the rhyme back to the Shire. That's my reasoning, anyway.

I ALMOST included Aule in the dream, so I ventured into cliche territory, too. But Gandalf' name means dreams, and I figured there had to be a reason for that. After all, Frodo saw him in a dream while in the house of Tom Bombadil, and with the Mewlips, poems about Tom Bombadil were on my mind. As for the dwarves, Gandalf did travel with Thorin and company, and he had his own name amongst the dwarves, too. So I think he knew them rather well. Anyway, you're definitely not a bad detective, because Gandalf's presence was not something that was supposed to even be hinted at. Faramir was too caught up in the unfolding mystery to look deeply into that. Dreams were really the only clue. That and Gimli wasn't characterized as Gimli. He was more a talking head for the dream.

Huge thanks for your wonderful reviews! Even if this isnt' your usual fare, I'm glad you enjoyed it. And you're more than welcome to nominate it for the MEFAs if you still like it next year. Thank you again!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Virodeil (Signed)
08/05/11 - 12:52 am
Waking

... Whoa. O_O Intense scenes! Hope and despair and hope again... and flames. What was the flame that was kindled in Faramir? What had tied it to Denethor? Perhaps I am being a bit thick here, but I do not yet understand...

Umm. Perhaps you might want to up the rating to R too... This chapter is too strong, IMHO, for PG-13... A fair warning wouldn't go unappreciated too. My mind halted for some moments when Faramir found the bones...

They sounded more like Mewlips now in my mind -- the creatures. But I wonder what made the same creature get into such a twisted tangle of recognisions with Faramir... Why didn't Faramir seek after the other creatures too? Was it just out of his mind? But the description of his getting fey and lit all the chamber was wonderful to experience, although morbidly so.

And dare I ask who the gnawed-off Gondorian was...? O_O

Now, on to the last chapter! I dread it so, but I cannot stop now...

Rey

Author's Response:

This chapter is the reason there's a warning up on the story. I debated about its rating for a good long time, and in my head, I went through all the PG-13 movies I could think of that had been rated for violence and action. I came up with not a few that exceeded my level of detail, so that's why I went with PG-13. (Think Rohirrim leaving orc-head stuck on a pike and attacking Mordor forces tossing heads over the wall in the LotR movies, for example.) But your suggestion of an additional warning is a good idea. I'll get that up pronto. My sincerest apologies that it wasn't up in time for you! It was not my intention to get people to read something that went beyond their preferred rating level.

Good job sussing out that these are Mewlips, though. I'm actually a bit surprised that so many people know about them. They're such an obscure group that I don't think I'd recognize them if I came across them in story form. Not unless it was spelled out for me. As for the gnawed Gondorian...he's unnamed because I figured that would cross the line into an R story. So I didn't give him any attachments.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Virodeil (Signed)
08/05/11 - 12:19 am
Searching (Part 2)

awwh the suspence--!

The description of the creatures reminded me of the Mewlips... A fanfic I read once featured this obscure race, and it was no less chilling!

And were everyone actually safe? O_O What of the Ranger drawn into the water -- and others that screamed? What of the King?...

It was of some morbid interest to me that Faramir seemed to recognise the feel as the aura of Nazgul, and the sight as something he once knew... The search was ended, but to what cost? And it was so, so, so eerie when the dream came true all around him, so seamlessly... I can't really describe how unnerved I was! If you added a little more in the way of the land itself, right from Faramir's stand till when he fought the unseen, unknown enemies, it would be made all the realer and terrifying. (You only described it when Faramir had chased the creatures into the marshes proper, as it were, and I felt like he had emerged from a void into the waking world. But was it your intention? And water and mud was in his mind, while you said nothing of it here...)

I both look forward to and dread the next chapter, I confess. But on we go!

Rey

Author's Response:

Alright, now you've got me curious. I missed the fanfic that had the Mewlips. Do you remember who it was or what its title was? I'd love to go read it!

Okay, more details for the attack. As if this chapter wasn't long enough already! ;) Thanks for the suggestion, though. Action scenes are always difficult to write, but now that the actual writing is out of the way, I think I can get a better handle on the details. Thanks for your comment on the dream/waking world merge. Like Anduril, that was another one of the premises that forced the writing of this story. I'm so glad it the atmosphere I wanted it to have! Thanks again!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Virodeil (Signed)
08/04/11 - 11:49 pm
Searching (Part 1)

A horror story indeed! O_O My heart stopped for a moment on this line: "Andúril is easy to recognize." -- Aragorn! Where is he? I do hope the answer is in the next chapter... You got an excellant play of efficient, effective words here! It made all the event Faramir experienced and thought so poignant, so chilling...

And I was truly, utterly floored when Legolas said that the cause of everything horrible there was the sea. I was -- am -- confused, yet somehow it makes some sense; a twisted sense but... *shrug* This is one of the cleverest twists I remember having ever encountered . It's kind of horrible to me, though, as a sea-lover. (Well, I didn't quite like the sea before, but one of my OFC's made me do so, somehow, as I was delfing deeper into her character; but I'm digressing now.)

The play of power and rank here was just as delicate as before, but stronger. I commend you on such a success pulling off this feat. I rarely, if ever, saw how Faramir's Rangers and their Ranger-life were portrayed, when set aside from the general regard of "Gondorians." Your depictions of them were quite fitting and well-rounded, and they gave light on so many questions I had when reading about Faramir's character and also his Rangers in LotR...

Then again, you depicted Elven characteristics quite well too. If I forgot to say it, I'm saying it now: It's splendid! Again, not many people even cared about how different Elves and Men are, despite their similarities. Legolas's remark about divides in the last chapter struck me as quite "Elfish" as it were, and also his remark about his experience in the Nindalf now.

But regarding the thing that so terrified the Elves, I wondered why they had not been struck by this odd, horrifying plague when they had firstly set out into the marshes, in both the scouting mission and later when Aragorn himself had set into the fens. They must have reached the same place at least twice, then. And they had even lingered -- according to the messengers' account -- on that spot when examining the ruins... Hmm.

Was Faramir's having Legolas trace his Ithilien badge a part of the dream-Gimli's question of his stewardship? And why didn't he use the flame-answer from the dream now that Legolas needed it?... I guess I'll find the answers out in the next chapter(s); or at least I hope so! :)


And sorry for not being able to drop by a review for this chapter after all... There was no time to write a review, then. And curiosity about this story niggled me all night. I was just glad I wasn't visited by the same dream as Faramir! ;) :) I would have freaked out. LOL

Rey

Author's Response:

Hey Rey! I'm so glad the finding of Anduril is getting the response it is. This story was actually built around a few key ideas, and discovering Anduril abandoned in a swamp was one of them. So I'm thrilled it's affecting people. And I'm glad you likethe characterization of the Rangers. I hadn't done much with them before, but they turned out to be a really fun group to play with.

Faramir having Legolas trace the Ithilien badge actually came from a couple of different things. Faramir noted that Legolas was seeing too far and didn't seem to be responding to voices (the Sea was too loud), but he was clutching things he touched. So one of the reasons was simple recognition. Faramir hoped Legolas would recognize the badge and consequently recognize the Steward. But part of it did come frmo the dream, though perhaps subconsciously. The flame part of the answer wouldn't have done much for Legolas because, for all intents and purposes, he'd escaped. In his own unique way. So he wasn't in any danger from the swamp creatures. He was too lost in his Sea.

Huge thanks for the review! I'm off to read your others!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
08/04/11 - 10:47 pm
Being

OK, THAT WAS BRILLIANT!!!!!!!!

I uploaded the story on my Nook to read, and when I finished I hurried over to my computer to review-- only to find my internet down. It's up now, and I can tell you how much I loved it!

But, Oh, Wow! Mewlips!  and Gandalf!

I did suspect about halfway through that Gimli sounded rather Gandalf-ish, but I wasn't imagining his intervention as Olorin through the dreams-- rather I just thought it was his influence on Faramir's subconscience.

And I did begin to suspect Mewlips as the climax neared-- which made me feel gleeful; but I squeed when I found out I was right!

This was so very atmospheric; and using the present-tense and stream-of-consciousness worked perfectly, especially in keeping the POV very tight and focussed.  Faramir's mind felt very claustrophobic at times.

I'm so glad I got to do your picture for you!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much, Dreamflower! I'm so glad you were the one to do the picture, because it was EXACTLY what I was imagining. I still think you crawled into my head and took a few screenshots while you were in there. Very creepy. Definitely creepier than the story.

Anyway, congrats on figuring out both Gandalf and the Mewlips! You're always perceptive, both in reading and in writing, so I have to say I'm not surprised. I'm been dying to do a story about the Mewlips for a while but haven't found a good way to work them in until this story. And HUGE thanks for your comments on the present tense. That was a big experiment for me, and it gave me all kinds of fits. But I did want soemthing very immediate and pressing that could help wrack up the tension. Thank you again! I'm still working my way through the Big Bang stories, and yours sounds very interesting!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Nath (Signed)
08/04/11 - 03:16 am
Dreaming

The build-up and release of tension in the storyline is perfect, it's eerie, creepy and several other y-s. The relationships are spot on. In short, this was wonderful and I greatly enjoyed it.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much, Nath! I'm relieved you enjoyed it and that it was "eerie, creepy, and several other y-s." Love it! ;) Seriously, though, that was the feel I was trying to get, but tone isn't something I'm ever entirely sure of. So I was thrilled that it came across the way you described. Thank you again!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Virodeil (Signed)
08/03/11 - 10:50 pm
Burning

Ha... Now a question of loyalties was thrown into the mix... The story was indeed full of intrigues of a different kind. The more I looked into it, the deeper I was -- am -- mired there...

... Scary. Just like the marshes...

But the changing dreams and the unravelling puzzles were a comfort -- a cold comfort, but a comfort nonetheless, like Faramir said. And here I wanted to say that Faramir did embody the questions of the readers -- or at least my questions -- when faced by the same situation: the dreams and what it pertains to. It's eerie! But I guess it's the point of it? :rueful:

I have to go to attend a computer class and teach a private tutorial soon, and I don't want to stop reading here... so sorry for the rather short commentry, and see you in the next chapter!

Rey

Author's Response:

Enjoy your class and tutorial! But many thanks for dropping me a note before you left!

The loyalty/intrigue issue gave me all kinds of fits, and Beregond proved harder to write than I anticipated. He kept insisting on getting into the swamp, and I had to tighten my perspective from Faramir on why that couldn't happen and what kind of argument would get Faramir his way. In the end, Beregond solved it with his own suggestion, so that helped. Thank you again!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Virodeil (Signed)
08/03/11 - 10:17 pm
Ailing

Whoa, Legolas was there just after Faramir had dreamt a chilling dream about him! Poor Faramir... but it's inevitable, I guess.

And the end of the chapter was even beyond chilling to me! And how horrible it is, unable to trust your own mind... I am devided in this (Ha... Devide...) I don't know should I feel alarmed, afraid or excited... But one that I know for sure is that you wove all the puzzles so delicately, with challenging questions that readers would ask anyway, in a stream-of-consciousness way that was quite engauging. The dreams were unique too, just as Faramir noted to himself, in that they diviated from the norm of other dreams -- either prophetic or ordinary. I cannot wait to continue reading -- and hope the end is as happy as it can be! (But regarding Aragorn's death in his old age, may I hope that he lasts long after this dreadful mess?... Heh. I guess I'll just find out later...)

And I'm glad -- and grateful, truth be told -- that there were still things to smile or laugh at here. I even found something quite ticklish here: "...seem unable to
differentiate a cooking fire from a beacon fire..." -- regarding the soldiers. The notion was just... well, ticklish. And the idea of the wrath of the White Lady was just too amusing not to note of, despite the grim situation.

Now, onwards! (I admit, I really, really wish to know about the waving banners of the rear-guards... That was really, really chilling.)

Rey

Author's Response:

Hello again! I'm SO glad you're enjoying this! I'm enjoying your reviews. You are so honest and direct, and you let me know exactly what's working and what isn't. Many thanks!

I was particularly glad to hear you liked the stream-of-consciousness way Faramir thinks about the dream. I wanted to both address what questions readers might be having as well as direct them because I don't want to completely lose someone in the mystery. Faramir isn't a bad detective, so I figured he could keep us on track. Thank you again!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Virodeil (Signed)
08/03/11 - 09:30 pm
Dreaming

Delightful! I do not usually like suspense-mystery stories, but this one is quite... I don't know. But what I do know is that I like it very much and will follow it till the end. :) The mix of puzzle and dreams and reality and what can nearly be called daily activity has been most enjoyable to read. And poor Faramir to have another foresight pertaining to possible doom again... I wonder, though, who was in charge of Gondor while its king and steward were away investigating the Nindalf? -- Clever use of the Nindalf as the setting of this story, by the way! Perfect for mysteries, and one that I never saw anybody picked up for their story(ies)... The Dead Marshes would pose more challenge and thrill, but it's been taken manyttimes; the Midgetwater was already taken too.

In all the ride reading this chapter, I stumbled only twice. They are contained in these sentences:
"Faramir jumps, his eyes snapping to Aragorn." -- Jumped? But he was lying down on the pallet, wasn't he? --and
"Aragorn pushes him
down to into the bedding with firm hands." -- Did you mean "down onto"?

I found myself having a similar headache to Faramir! But hopefully, our headaches will dicipate soon along the ride of this mysterious adventure... :) ;)

Rey

Author's Response:

Many thanks for those eagle-eyed catches! This story was finished too close to the deadline for all the little mistakes to get weeded out! Faramir is now flinching on the pallet and is pushed onto the bedding.

I'm glad you like the Nindalf so far. I debated about using it since it's kind of unfamiliar territory for most readers (myself included until I started looking into it), but in the end, that's exactly why I sent with it. Go figure. As for people in charge of Gondor, they're still technically in Anorien, so they really haven't gone that far. Well, Aragorn hasn't. And Arwen is more than capable. Faramir is more along as backup. At least, that's my reasoning. :)

Thank you again! I always so enjoy hearing your insights and comments!

[Report This]


Reviewer: curiouswombat (Signed)
08/02/11 - 11:30 am
Being

Oh wow!  I had trouble tearing myself away to go to work - then dashed home to read the last four chapters. 

 

What an ecellent mystery.  I was going "You're The Steward!  You are of Denethor's line just as Gimli is of his father's line...  It's your job to do things until The King returns!"  a great read.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the kind words! I'm glad it was interesting enough to pull you back. Thanks again!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Celeritassagittae (Signed)
08/01/11 - 09:59 pm
Being

*grin*  Great ending!

I think my favorite bit in here was the creepy implication that Faramir, too, sought his own end, and then...

GANDALF EX MACHINA!!

Nope, didn't see that one at all.

This story seriously kicked some major donkey.  Congratulations!!!



Author's Response:

I actually had a long list of reasons for the how/why/what-in-the-world questions of Gandalf's involvement. But told from Faramir's perspective, they never made it into the story. Ah well. As for Faramir, shades of Denethor. Which was the whole point, but he surprised everyone with just how similar he and his father are. Many thanks for reading and commenting!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Celeritassagittae (Signed)
08/01/11 - 09:52 pm
Waking

Well, now I know which one was "dead on"...

I'm starting to wonder if the one who is outside Nindalf but can help Faramir if he returns to Faramir is Denethor...



Author's Response:

Nice pinpoint of Denethor. See, you keep peeking! It's not fair!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Celeritassagittae (Signed)
08/01/11 - 09:35 pm
Searching (Part 2)

Aaaaaaaah!!!!

Also, this sentence made Faramir sound unbelievably sexy: "Another man would have wilted before it, but Faramir knows a Nazgûl's scream. "



Author's Response:

::grins:: Who can resist sexy Faramir? (Definitely not me)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Celeritassagittae (Signed)
08/01/11 - 09:20 pm
Searching (Part 1)

Me, reading this chapter: "Ooh, they found a sword, I bet it's a ruined old--

"Anduril?  HOLY ----!!!"

And is Legolas hearing the Sea because he fears it?  Or is it something else?



Author's Response:

The story kind of built itself around a couple of moments and lines. Finding Anduril like that was one of them, so I'm glad it worked.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Celeritassagittae (Signed)
08/01/11 - 08:51 pm
Burning

FYI, there's a little "14" at the end of this chapter, and I'm not sure if it's an error or a secret message...

It was inevitable that Faramir would try to get to the swamp, but at least he's starting to make sense of this!  The ruins are delightfully creepy, Mablung's knowingness is uncanny, and I especially liked Faramir's scruples about manipulating Beregond into letting him get to the swamp.

I'm really getting the sense of circling around the answer, right along with Faramir!



Author's Response:

FYI, there's a little "14" at the end of this chapter, and I'm not sure if it's an error or a secret message...

Secret message. So far, no one's decoded it. Little do they know that it's representative of the Ents' secret written language...

Beregond gave me fits this chapter. He kept trying to get into the swamp himself, and I really wanted to keep it focused on Faramir. I was having enough problems with present tense as it was. Grrr...

[Report This]


Reviewer: Celeritassagittae (Signed)
08/01/11 - 06:37 pm
Ailing

I'm wondering if Faramir is dreaming as himself?  Could he be dreaming from the perspective of some malicious spirit, or someone affected by the swamp?  Gimli's disappointment seems to be more along the lines of, "No, you're not getting it yet" rather than "No, you're not Faramir yet."

Also, if the Mewlips are involved at all I am going to be so happy!



Author's Response:

You peeked! When did you sneak onto my harddrive??!! ;)

I won't say which of your guesses is right. One of them is close in a strange kind fo way. The other is dead on. I'm afraid you're ahead of me, too, because I haven't even begun to read the other Big Bang stories. I'm recovering from my all-night-finish-this-story-NOW-marathon. But it worked! I finished!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Celeritassagittae (Signed)
08/01/11 - 05:59 pm
Dreaming

Eeeep!

Holy cow, this is creepy and mysterious and suspenseful...

I like the way that Aragorn and Faramir are familiar with each other, yet treat each other as their station warrants (if that makes any sense).

I'm looking forward to the rest of the fic already; for not having any pages, this is a real pageturner!



Author's Response:

Oh, here's another review! I'll respond to this one, too. Backwards go I. I'm so glad you like the way Aragorn and Faramir come across. I didn't want to be TOO formal, but we're still pertty early in this new kingdom and I figured a certain camaraderie would have been reached but they would still be respectful of one another's stations. So glad you like the atmosphere, too, you who peeks! (See my response from your other review if that doesn't make sense.)

[Report This]



You must login (register) to review.