Reviews For The King's Surgeon - the Happy AU

You must login (register) to review.


Reviewer: inspired2013 (Signed)
09/29/14 - 08:31 am
View

I've now read both this story and the original and on the whole I like this one better. This one is a much fuller story, especially prior to Serinde going back to Minas Tirith. Interestingly though, I like the other story better once the timeline hits the point where Halbarad dies. The biggest reason why is the different characterization of Arwen between the two stories. In this story she seems very perceptive and kind during Serinde's stay in Rivendell but after Arwen married Aragorn it felt like she lost the ability to really relate to others. I don't think I said that quite right, but suffice it to say that the Arwen we met in Rivendell and the Arwen we met in Gondor seem like two very different people to me and I didn't like the second one all that much.

I'm don't typically like LOTR stories with OCs but Serinde just sucked me right in and now it feels like she's a canon character. I know shirebound introduced her (and I LOVE shirebound's stories too!) but you really brought her to life.

I hope one day you're able to finish this story. It's an amazing story and so is your writing. However, I understand what it's like to have a lack of inspiration if that's the case. I truly hope it's a lack of inspiration and not an insane RL that's keeping you from updating. Once again, just an amazing story you've created and now I'm going to reread it!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Eruherdiriel (Signed)
05/21/14 - 08:22 pm
The Making of a Surgeon

I like this version of the story as well. Some bits I like better, and some bits I don't like as well, but that is really only to be expected.

       ~Eruherdiriel

[Report This]


Reviewer: curiouswombat (Signed)
12/09/11 - 03:27 pm
Unexpected Guests

I am really enjoying reading all these together here - even though I should probably be doing other things!

 

What a pity the link in' Unexpected Guests' for 'A Chicken for the Healer' is to a Friends' Locked journal so we can't access it.  Do you think she might allow you to add it as an extra chapter here?



Author's Response:

I just checked and it's actually archived on Stories of Arda. Here's the link: http://storiesofarda.com/chapterlistview.asp?SID=5204

Enjoy!

And thanks!

[Report This]


Reviewer: DinaLori (Signed)
11/25/11 - 04:42 pm
Kitchens

Was this chapter part of the original King's Surgeon? I don't remember reading it before.

Anyway, I love how the folks in Bree are taking care of Serinde (heaven knows she needs someone to.) Having been the recipient of similar kindness myself, by the end of this chapter I found myself tearing up right along with her.



Author's Response:

This was sort of a gapfiller which was written after I'd completed the original of The King's Surgeon. I'd consider it material which would fit right into the appropriate part of that story as well as this one.

I'm glad this is working for you - thanks!

[Report This]


Reviewer: pandemonium_213 (Signed)
11/25/11 - 08:00 am
Newcomers

 I've been sitting here amusing myself during my holiday break by reading te Happy!AU!  Stands up perfectly well with a re-read.  Did you make some minor revisions to this chapter?  That is,

"and she bore an uncanny resemblance to a woman who seemed to always find Elendil the supplies he needed when he needed them. She’d always answered questions about where she’d procured them with a cheeky, “Ask me no questions and I’ll tell you no lies,” which had been one of the few things in that damned war which had made Elrond laugh. And there had been that woman's cousin the combat surgeon..."

I think I'm recognizing a couple of Serindë's distant ancestors here. :^)  I really like that little nod back!  Also liked the hint that Elrond is considering training Halbarad as the "spare," just in case.

I must grin wickedly at Elrond's ruminations on Halbarad's marriage to a "woman of Bree" (how scandalous!) who has a still (even more scandalous) and how that branch of the family is less than reliable.  Heh.



Author's Response:

The cousin the combat surgeon was an edit - the woman trader was actually there in the original. I'd originally thought Avareth might have been Serinde's ancestress - and then Nemir and Azrindil stepped up and told me differently.

It only made sense to me that Elrond would train a 'spare to the heir.' He's been protecting that line for far too long to do any differently.

Thank you - and back to uploading more chapter for me!

[Report This]


Reviewer: DinaLori (Signed)
11/24/11 - 06:30 pm
Of Aids to Memory

Having just finished the original King's Surgeon (sorry I never reviewed, I'm kinda bad at that) I was very happy to discover this AU. I read the one AU ending you posted (Siege of Minas Tirith I think it was called?) and am looking forward to finding out how Serinde's life ends up in this version.

Those mnemonic devises had me laughing (wish I had friends like ‘Needles’ and ‘Fish’ when I was in school), but the obstetric scene left me with two thoughts- one, I am SO glad to live in the twenty-first century and two, I really should know better than to read your stories after eating. BLARGH!



Author's Response:

Thanks, Dina! 

Yep, 'The Siege of Minas Tirith' was the piece that sort of kicked this AU off. When I had one reader ask why I killed Halbarad, I replied that it was canon, and that was that. When several more started asking 'but what if?' I started getting images in my head that I felt almost compelled to writed down. Then when they started asking'but what if' about material earlier in the timeline, I went back and started writing/editing that. Most things stay roughly the same up to a certain point, and then you'll see a few big changes.

And I won't apologize for making people queasy. ;)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
11/22/11 - 10:25 am
Dreamer

Oh, I am so delighted to see the Happy AU here. I had forgotten about this lovely chapter, and Halbarad's charming crush on Gilraen.

And I love his attempts at poetry! He's so sweet as a kid.



Author's Response:

Thanks! It's good to get it up here.

I'd almost forgotten about this chapter. It was fun to re-discover it!

[Report This]


Reviewer: curiouswombat (Signed)
11/21/11 - 04:51 pm
Of Aids to Memory

Somehow, although I remember reading about Serindë's mnemonics helping Fish with his exams, I hadn't read the actual scene before.  Fortunately for my exams I didn't need to know the anatomy in quite such detail - but if I had I would have wished for those to help!



Author's Response:

Hee, we  had mnemonics for damn near everything when I took gross anatomy. It was fun to find a way to write a story about it!

[Report This]



You must login (register) to review.