Reviews For Approaching Rivendell

You must login (register) to review.


Reviewer: Makalaure (Signed)
09/08/14 - 05:53 am
New Life

This was so cute, and also very beautiful. :)



Author's Response:

Thank you! :o)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Himring (Signed)
08/19/13 - 02:59 pm
First Growth

Oh, I hadn't realized how far along this had gone in the meantime!



Author's Response:

As always with drabbles, it looks more than it is! ;o) I also re-arranged the first set a bit here to put it in chronological order.

[Report This]


Reviewer: curiouswombat (Signed)
07/27/13 - 12:12 pm
Sunrise

I love this one in particular - that she would miss sunrise, and that she was a better bowman than he was!



Author's Response:

Thanks! I wanted to play with the lore fact that elven men like to cook, and I like my elven women to be down-to-earth and practical. As a daughter of the Galadhrim, Celebrían must have grown up with a bow attached to her or something, so this seemed fitting.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Himring (Signed)
07/27/13 - 02:11 am
Delicious

I love quinces!

But the thought of biting into Laurelin's fruit--a relative of the sun!--is almost a bit scary.



Author's Response:

*g* You've got a point there. I imagine the elves of Middle-earth to be a rather pracdtical folk, though, and assuming the trees grew well, they were soon confronted with quite a harvest. Using the fruit for delicious recipes would seem more respectful than let it rot, I think.

[Report This]


Reviewer: nautika (Signed)
07/26/13 - 10:55 pm
Delicious

Thank you for sharing this story. This is the Elrond that I like...a gardener, a husband feeling the loss of his wife, yet recognizing that he is a father whose sons will benefit from his presence.



Author's Response:

Thank you! I like to show a character a bit outside the usual occupations and viewpoints, and in Elrond's case, the more private side seems to rarely come up.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
07/26/13 - 01:20 pm
Delicious

How fun! I wish I were able to find quinces in the stores--I'd love to experiment with them.



Author's Response:

:o) They are most delicious, though need some cooking/working at. If you have any Mideastern delicatessen or grocery stores available, they might be available there - the Turkish and Persian cuisine uses them for many sweet and savoury recipes. And they grow wherever apples grow.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
07/26/13 - 01:16 pm
Sunset

What a punch in the gut this one is, following as it does the previous one! Poor Elrond--he must be wondering of what use his healing power is if he cannot use it to heal his wife!



Author's Response:

I chose them to be juxtaposed, also with the use of the related prompts. Having not been able to do more for his wife, and not heal her, must have been most bitter for Elrond. Remaining in Middle-earth without her must have been a painfully hard decision, even if he had valiant reasons for staying.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
07/26/13 - 01:14 pm
Sunrise

Oh, that's so romantic and sweet!



Author's Response:

Thanks! :o)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
07/26/13 - 01:13 pm
A Thousand Years

 I love the idea that already Rivendell is becoming known for its hospitality!

 

 



Author's Response:

Thank you! I have often thought that all what Elrond had experienced until the time he came about to found Imladris must have had a huge influence on the way he lead his realm. Caused by their WWII experiences, both my grandfathers made hospitality a big issue in their lives, the one with inviting many friends and family members on countless occasions, the other making a point of founding and nourishing friendship with people from other countries speaking other languages. These experiences coloured my ideas of the character of Elrond quite a bit.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
07/26/13 - 01:10 pm
First Growth

This is very evocative. I can see Elrond missing the winter, especially after having lost Celebrian.



Author's Response:

Thank you!

[Report This]



You must login (register) to review.