Reviews For Cushions

You must login (register) to review.


Reviewer: Himring (Signed)
06/01/16 - 01:43 am
Chapter 20

(I finally caught up with this.)

Glad they weathered that final crisis!

Those cushions! Such a nice touch for the last scene.

They are going to be very happy together I'm sure (most of the time).



Author's Response:

I'm sorry I didn't reply earlier - somehow I missed your comment.

I'm glad you enjoyed this, especially that last crisis!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
03/19/16 - 02:05 am
Chapter 20

At last--most truly and happily wed!  Joy to them!

Loved this story all the way through, and I rejoice it continued delightful from beginning to end.  Poor Lothiriel is now Queen of the Mark, and the two of them are happy together, it seems.

Thanks so much for the entertainment!



Author's Response:

Thank you Larner for the lovely comments.  I'm really happy that you enjoyed it, I must admit to enjoying working out where, and how, they could misunderstand each other :)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
03/19/16 - 01:44 am
Chapter 19

I'm not certain whether I should say "poor Lothiriel" or "poor Eomer"--or "poor both of them!"  It's had me giggling, believe me!  At least that misunderstanding is now dealt with!  Love it!



Author's Response:

Thank you - making you giggle whilst feeling sorry for them was the perfect response for me, as the writer!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Oshun (Signed)
03/09/16 - 05:44 am
Chapter 20

Congrats on finishing your tale. What a lovely wedding and sweet, fulfilling aftermath. Of course, you had to include lots of cushions.



Author's Response:

Thank you.  I'm so glad it worked for you - having started out a bit Jane Austen I wanted to keep away from anything explicit - but it really needed a bed full of cushions to finish it off, I reckoned!

 

[Report This]


Reviewer: sian22 (Signed)
03/05/16 - 08:43 pm
Chapter 19

Great great chapter..  I love Lothiriel's apology..and Eomer's bluffing about the axe and the wonderful inadvertant mix up.   You write these two so lightly and comfortably they seem perfect for each other.

Great news about the final chapter... 

Only one niggle..there seems to be an entire duplicate of the chapter pasted in



Author's Response:

Oh my goodness!  Not sure how I managed that - nor how I didn't notice!  Thank you so much for pointing it out.

Thank you, too, for the lovely compliments.  I am really pleased that you enjoyed the bluff about the axe - it just seemed very Éomer by this stage :)

[Report This]


Reviewer: elwen of the hidden valley (Signed)
02/28/16 - 11:16 am
Chapter 1

This certainly made me giggle.  I love your light touch with storytelling.



Author's Response:

Thank you for the lovely compliment - I'm really pleased to know that you are enjoying it.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
02/23/16 - 01:37 am
Chapter 18

Oh, dear--and what is this?  A MISTRESS?  It does sound alarming!

You have me waiting, biting my nails, imagining all kinds of odd things happening now!



Author's Response:

I promise all will be revealed!  I've already got the next bit underway :)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
02/06/16 - 07:48 pm
Chapter 17

Ah, but I love the progress of the romance, and look forward to the journey.  Excellent idea to go through the Paths to greet her, I think.  And I'm glad she has the chance to learn from someone willing to speak frankly with her.



Author's Response:

Thank you.  Yes - I thought Éomer's decision to travel through the Paths with the Dol Amroth party was both a sensible and a romantic one - glad you agree. 

As for Cwenhild - as I planned the second half of this story I thought' I need someone who can do A, B, and possibly C...' and rather as her sister arrived in my head fully formed as I wrote the earlier chapters, so did Cwenhild.

[Report This]


Reviewer: sian22 (Signed)
02/03/16 - 01:08 pm
Chapter 17

oh such fun...the imaging of who and how to train Lothiriel in needed knowledge, Eowyn and Faramir the morning after their wedding..cotented sigh..lovely...

can't wait for more



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm really glad you liked that glimpse of Éowyn and Faramir - I didn't really want to do their whole wedding, just a glimpse of them reaching the point Éowyn was thinking about the week earlier. 

And I'm so pleased you like the plans to make sure that Lothiriel can cope with being a wife, and being happy amongst the Rohirrim, as well as her existing knowledge that will help her with running Meduseld and being a Queen.

 

More will be forthcoming :)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
01/07/16 - 12:44 pm
Chapter 16

Aha!  Definitely most practical a princess she, not in keeping at all with his first thoughts of her!  Tomorrow will indeed be more than soon enough for blessings!

Love it!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
01/07/16 - 12:30 pm
Chapter 15

Oh, I am so glad to catch up with this again!  The maids who keep her rooms certainly have a treasure-trove awaiting them under that cushion, don't they?  Heh!  And she and Eomer have so much to share with one another, don't they?

Yes, I suspect she will indeed by betrothed ere she comes home again!

[Report This]


Reviewer: sian22 (Signed)
12/30/15 - 07:18 pm
Chapter 16

Oh I just loved this and just realized I not reviewed.  From eowyn musing on her experience to all the machinatins to bring thiri and eomer together..just fun.

Thank you for it

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
10/14/15 - 01:18 pm
Chapter 15

I find myself imagining the maids cleaning her chamber after she's gone finding that letter and perhaps others and reading them together, imagining their Lady Princess married to the King of Rohan!  Delightful!



Author's Response:

Thank you.  And yes - if the maids can read they will doubtless begin to imagine an upcoming wedding!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
10/14/15 - 01:04 pm
Chapter 14

I'd not thought of considering what stock and food might be sent as a form of wergild, but I can appreciate how the Rohirrim would most likely see it.  There is such need for food, after all, considering the damage endured throughout the Mark; it is good that the aid sent will not be perceived as an insult but as the honor earned by the deaths if Theoden and so many of his Riders.

And the idea that Eomer wished to write privately with no danger of his letter being censored has me smiling.



Author's Response:

Thank you.  It has always struck me, alongside others, that Rohan had been laid to waste in large areas, and lost a lot of the population, and so aid would have been needed if they were not to suffer even more losses from starvation. 

It is possible that Aragorn might have thought of it in terms of wergild, but I think he had been a lot longer away from The Mark than the time he had spent there, and he had so many other things to think of.  But if Éomer could put it to the Rohirrim that this was not some sort of charity, but wergild owed them in honour, I think it would help them think of Gondor in a more positive way. 

Harder for Éomer himself, I thought, as he knows wergild is not a Gondorian tradition - and that it has been prompted by his sister and Lothiríel!

I'm really pleased that you liked the idea of the public letter and the private one :)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
10/14/15 - 12:39 pm
Chapter 13

Ah!  He is at last making progress!  Hooray!

And I, too, enjoy the plays on words!

Sorry to be so long delayed in continued reading--life has been complicated....



Author's Response:

I am sorry to hear that life has been complicated - this is not usually a very good thing :(

But thank you for taking the time to read, and review.  I'm so glad that you enjoyed the chapter, especially the plays on words.

[Report This]


Reviewer: sian22 (Signed)
10/10/15 - 05:03 pm
Chapter 15

this chapter was well worth the wait!  The happy easy flow between Edoras and Dol Amroth is a treat...Eowyn's excitement is so bright and I love that boht Thri and Eomer are somewhat fearless about innuendo..



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I really enjoyed writing their letters - and having Éomer worrying in case he shocked her, and then almost as worried that he isn't sure whether she is so 'innocent' that the innuendo was lost on her... or not!

[Report This]


Reviewer: sian22 (Signed)
08/24/15 - 10:22 am
Chapter 14

Brilliant, brilliant Eomer..two letters...and the image of Elrohir in on things and helping out is perfect...loved this chapter ....but tsk leave Faramir behind?  :)   not thinking w his head *wink*



Author's Response:

Now if you were Éomer wouldn't you prefer to have Lothiriel along, rather than Faramir? :)

I'm so pleased that you like the sneaky Éomer writing two letters - and the way that Elrohir is gently pushing them together, as much because he likes Éomer and Lothiriel's family as for his own quiet amusement!

 

 

[Report This]


Reviewer: Oshun (Signed)
08/22/15 - 09:44 pm
Chapter 14

Nice chapter. It's such a fun story.



Author's Response:

Thank you - it is fun to work out how and when they can misunderstand things - and occasionally have moments of complete understanding!

[Report This]


Reviewer: sian22 (Signed)
07/31/15 - 06:49 pm
Chapter 12

Woman's problems... :)  I loved Eowyn's comment about 'asking a Hobbit' and the E and F's  tryst..tight breeches indeed.  Galadriel and Celeborn and twins as Matchmakers made me smile..such fun as always. 



Author's Response:

Thank you!  It all made perfectly logical sense to Éomer - just perfectly wrong sense! 

I do have fun writing the scenes with Cwengyth - she sort of sprung into my mind fully formed at the point where Éothain first mentioned her when Éomer suggested he should marry Éowyn.

I think Galadriel finds such matchmaking gently amusing - and, who knows, she may well have enough forsight to actually know for sure where Lothiriel is going to end up.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
07/09/15 - 01:50 am
Chapter 12

I've been giggling pretty steadily all throughout the chapter.  Poor Eomer--all this bawdy talk and his thought is that she might be infertile?  Although, to think she couldn't ride was in there, too.  He is only now beginning to realize it's all but a done deal.  Eowyn taking him to task is priceless!



Author's Response:

Thank you.  It was such fun to write the conversation with Éowyn -it just flowed so easily! 

I don't think that Éomer minds that he is being pushed in that direction by his sister - he fancied Lothiriel, despite his misgivings, right from Cormallen.  Although, of course, he now only has about 3 days before he sets off back to Rohan...

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
05/25/15 - 12:35 am
... and Back Again

A delightful chapter with a distinct bawdy air.

Yes, Eowyn--such a push would indeed be timely!  Thanks for the giggles!



Author's Response:

Thank you - I thought a touch of the bawdy seemed likely when discussing these things with your friends ;~)

Now to find out how good Éowyn's matchmaking skills are...

[Report This]


Reviewer: Larner (Signed)
04/20/15 - 12:28 am
Chapter 10

Aha!  Love this work behind the scenes to see the Mark's stores replenished and reinforced at such a vulnerable time.  Lovely maneuvering between these two allies!  Love it!



Author's Response:

Thank you.  I'm really leased that this works for you, too.

Food supply at the kitchen to plate level seemed to me to be more a concern of the women than the men, in both Rohirric and Gondorian society, and it has always struck me that Rohan would be very short of food for a while after the Ringwar.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Linda Hoyland (Signed)
03/19/15 - 07:33 pm
Chapter 10

I love the way that Lothiriel and Eowyn arrange for food to be sent to the hungry.

 

It seems great minds think alike about breeding the horses !



Author's Response:

I'm glad you think it likely that Gondor could spare a little for her allies - I'm pretty sure there was land that remained untouched in parts of Gondor, and Denethor was good at arranging his supplies.

Adding in elven bloodlines to the Rohirric horses should make them very saleable - as well as there being a need for them as so many had been lost :)

[Report This]


Reviewer: sian22 (Signed)
03/19/15 - 06:33 pm
Chapter 10

oh boy...hopefully if anyone can light a fire under Eomer it is Eowyn.  the letters are great fun and I really like that you have focused on the plight of Rohan..we often forget how things were once everyone went home..oh and am glad for Eothain... :)



Author's Response:

At the moment Éomer hasn't really got a lot of time to think about Lothiriel - and it is a bit out of sight out of mind.  But he will start to get some reminders soon!

I have always had something of a soft spot for the Rohirrim after the war, I can see that first year or so being difficult for them.  I've got a liking for Éothain, too, I must admit :)

[Report This]


Reviewer: sian22 (Signed)
03/19/15 - 06:14 pm
Chapter 9

Eomer's dream is really funny..exactly what happens when your head mixes different things together.  His anxiety about the state of things in Rohan and his advisors seems very plausible.  And I just love the letters. Proper intelligence indeed! 

[Report This]



You must login (register) to review.