Reviews For Captains and Pawns

You must login (register) to review.


Reviewer: Tarlo the Wanderer (Signed)
09/26/15 - 05:31 am
Chapter 18

I think I'm going to have to read this chapter over a few times, it is just so deep.

Clear and high, from the north it came: faint as but an echo in the mind.

Something about that line just brought back to me what I felt when reading for the very first time the first chapter in the Two Towers... As Aaron Ledgers said, "the feels!!" XD

Boromir's last 'line' that he speaks to Faramir is so powerful. I think I needed its reassurance almost as much as Faramir did... D: And the last sentence! In certain ways Boromir really does seem like a human personification of Gondor.

I think it's really cool that you drew the similarity between Theodred and Boromir's deaths. Is the loss of, as you say, "a brother and one like a brother" maybe something that let Faramir and Eowyn relate to one another? I don't know. Or rather, we'll have to see... mwahaha.

The Houses of Healing!! *erupts into mad giggles* I don't know why I'm so excited.

Acutally I do. :D

Anyways I really love this chapter. Thank you so much. ^_^

~Tarlo

[Report This]


Reviewer: Tarlo the Wanderer (Signed)
09/26/15 - 04:27 am
Chapter 17

You can speak to women, you know, not just bed them. Try it some time, you might find it enlightening.

LOL. Boromir. *sigh*

There was a feeling in his heart much larger than what it could hold inside; it blocked his breath.

Talk about amazing description! That is just... wow. I love how you put it.

The dream!! oooooh this is exciting. Haha I like the timing of Denethor's saying "thank the Valar I have one son without wool in his head," and then Boromir saying he wants to go. ;)

I really like the ending sections, with Finduilas and Eowyn. A glimpse into the past and the future.

It's sad that this is the last chapter that Faramir and Boromir will be together, but I'm glad you made this chapter mostly about them. And the way you write their dialogue and thoughts really shows their brotherly love. :)

'Mir's ftw! ;)

~Tarlo

[Report This]


Reviewer: Aaron Ledgers (Signed)
09/25/15 - 01:50 pm
Chapter 18

This story tugged at my heartstrings! The feels! Omg, omg, omg... I loved it!

See, this is what I'm aspiring to do! Make stories that give people ALL the feels!

Still, I have a genuine request: since I'm literally just starting out on here, could you perhaps give me some insight on my first story as I write it? I want to give people something worth reading, and since I thoroughly enjoyed your tale-so-far, I'm sure your opinion qualifies as what is good and what isn't. If so, the link is below!

 

Thanks again for the great read! I'm favoriting this!

 

http://www.lotrgfic.com/viewstory.php?sid=3469

[Report This]


Reviewer: Tarlo the Wanderer (Signed)
09/19/15 - 04:03 pm
Chapter 16

:O I didn't realize that I fell behind! Sorry about that! But now I have two chapters to read! ^_^

Eager to pour encouragement and flattery in equal measure on his aging King.

I like that line. The way you use the words 'pour,' and 'in equal measure,' kind of give the idea that Theoden is a cauldron and Grima is concocting some sort of potion inside him... ooh that is creepy. And then it is echoed by the something Wormtongue stirs into his drink. It just deepens the metaphor...

Oh the spy glass! This is intense! Yay the cat saves them. XD

I like how Eowyn refers to the Golden Hall as a gilded cage. Very creative; and that is how she must have seen it.

You portray the relationship between Eowyn and Theodred very well. The gift of a dagger is perfect.

The tracking scene is suspenseful, and fun too! A ranger hiding from other rangers haha...

I like the combination of deep/lighthearted emotion in the Gandalf & Boromir scene.

A very well-written chapter! Lots of people and places and it still flowed smoothly. ^_^

~Tarlo

 

[Report This]


Reviewer: Silver Trails (Anonymous)
06/26/15 - 11:07 am
Chapter 3

I am loving this story!



Author's Response:

Thank you so very much Silver Trails...I am just thrilled...

cheers

Sian

[Report This]


Reviewer: Tarlo the Wanderer (Signed)
05/25/15 - 02:20 pm
Chapter 15

The first three paragraphs are beautifully written. I like the description of the different people and their clothing. And yes, Saruman of many colors! Dun dun dunnn...

EOWYN! Yaaay!! Haha I like the part about marching orders. All in all I really like how you portray her & her interactions with Theoden. Did you base Mallant off of any pastry in particular? Just wondering. Eomer hahahaha Eomer is great. And Grima is perfectly loathsome. Your descriptions of the places and people make it really easy to visualize them.

I love the ranger scenes and the social interaction in Henneth Annun. Pissing too close to the Forbidden pool... *facepalm* XD Faramir is such an awesome Captain :D

Oh goodness I was thinking that the bear would have rabies too... but that collar thing is pretty ingenious; makes sense why the bear would attack. 

Good old Denethor and Amerith. Ooh nice reuse of Amerith's "paddle a little faster" quote. ^_^ Ah yes it is only the ending of the beginning moves for Denethor and for Gondor...

All in all, this chapter was very enthralling and fun to read, thank you! ^_^

~Tarlo



Author's Response:

Thank you so very very much Tarlo!  Couldn't resist a good dose of Ranger fun..and oh yes he quite the captain.   Mallant is modelled after the french Financiers.  The rangers will be back next chapter...thank you again.  :)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Tarlo the Wanderer (Signed)
04/20/15 - 09:04 am
Chapter 14

haha So Denethor learned to dance just to win Finduilas?! So cute!

I really like Ivrenna. "Which 'Mir are you?" LOL

I have to say, Amerith is kind of growing on me... And Denethor seemed particularly endearing and relatable in this chapter... idk that is probably just me as a Denethor fan. 

Scary ending to this chapter! But I like it!

A very happy birthday! ;) (or your story's birthday) Ohhh my goodness I am so excited for the appearance of Eowyn!! :P yay! Thank you again for writing this; it is so fun to read!

~Tarlo



Author's Response:

Dear Tarlo.

 

Thank you so very very much!  I had such fun with this chapter imaging a young Denethor..and bringing Ivrenna in to spar with Amerith. Like you I am a fan of Denethor, of an understandable, relatably man twisted by something he could not control... It is for wonderful reviewers like you that i am so looking forward to Eowyn appearing.  

-Cheers Sian

[Report This]


Reviewer: Tarlo the Wanderer (Signed)
01/19/15 - 05:39 am
Chapter 12

I like your writing style; it is deep and complex but it is still animated and exciting. I love the ending of this chapter, it's very powerful and explains well how the Haradrim came to fight for Sauron.

I also really like the scene with Faramir and Boromir, it's also very powerful and shows their personalities well. I like the description of Boromir's room and it's so cute and fitting that he has the painting and the blanket that Finduilas made. She does seem like someone who would be artistic. Or maybe it was just because all accomplished women could paint and embroider?... actually I seem to be drifting off into Pride and Predjudice canon here whoops :P

Denethor being a jerk as usual... *sigh*

All in all this was a really great, strong chapter and I loved all the emotions and different personalities displayed.

~Tarlo



Author's Response:

Tarlo...thank you so very very much..a reviewer like you is what makes this all worth while!  

Both those scenes were favourites for me as well..I really wanted them to be strong as the timeline is starting to approach when the world becomes more dangerious and difficult for everyone.  

I am smiliing about your PandP comment..there is just something about Finduilas being sensitive  that makes me think artistic.  :)  I also wanted to contrast the two brothers more here, hence Boromir being very neat and Faramir not...

Thank you so very very much.  

Sian 

[Report This]


Reviewer: Tarlo the Wanderer (Signed)
01/16/15 - 04:57 am
Chapter 11

I like the Haradrim's response to the Anduin. Yes in their situation all that water really would be amazing! 

Yay Gandalf! hahaha I wonder if he practices his fireworks with leaves... Oh I like how you describe Strider's smile XD

What?! Hey! Wow hahaha I was just as surprised as Faramir to find out that Amerith had dealings with the Haradrim!



Author's Response:

She surprises us all!  So very glad that you enjoyed this chapter...

cheers

Sian

[Report This]


Reviewer: Tarlo the Wanderer (Signed)
11/11/14 - 03:14 pm
Chapter 10

ooooh Radagast! AND OOOOOH Haradrim!! Wonderful wonderful wonderful. I love the glimpse into the Rohirric culture and the glimpse into the Haradim culture.

I could just picture little Eowyn in that scene. So cute. :D

~Tarlo

[Report This]


Reviewer: Tarlo the Wanderer (Signed)
11/10/14 - 07:56 am
Chapter 9

Wonderful characterization. You do such beautiful justice to Tolkien's characters. (at least I think so) I like the scene with Saruman. (Go Denethor!!) I am continuing to admire Boromir. (only stupid on Tuesdays, hahaha XD)

And the part about Boromir's heart. Wow. As a devoted Boromir fan I have always wanted him to have room in his heart for one woman also *hides under writing notebook don't judge* but maybe it is better this way, with room only for those 4 things.

~Tarlo

[Report This]


Reviewer: Tarlo the Wanderer (Signed)
11/10/14 - 04:09 am
Chapter 8

The sparrow!! aaaaaaugh!!! :| *sigh*

The scene with Aunt Ivriniel is so cute. ;) Amerith is being so sneaky and Denethor being so brilliant like only Denethor can be. Another well-written and captivating chapter.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Tarlo the Wanderer (Signed)
11/05/14 - 03:22 am
Chapter 7

Saruman might need to be a little more careful next time.

Is it only when his son's life is in danger that Denethor feels love for him? At least he's coming to his senses a little here. And Boromir is such a good brother. ^_^

You're good at creating a strong mood for each scene and showing each character's personality and feelings. 

[Report This]


Reviewer: Tarlo the Wanderer (Signed)
11/05/14 - 02:48 am
Chapter 6

Oh man Saruman is SO annoying. :| 

Poor Boromir. I don't see him appreciating an arranged marriage either. Denethor wasn't being very smart.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Tarlo the Wanderer (Signed)
11/04/14 - 11:31 am
Chapter 5

tsk tsk Denethor is being too negligent. :'( 

I love how you portray the Dol Amroth side. (Especially Adrahil) Who wouldn't want to be part of their family?

[Report This]


Reviewer: Tarlo the Wanderer (Signed)
11/04/14 - 04:43 am
Chapter 4

Yay Gandalf has come! I was anticipating him almost as much as Faramir was. But it seems he doesn't really help make things better. Denethor's outbreak of anger is tragic but I'm glad Boromir stood up for his brother! 

Yes I am definitely enjoying it!

[Report This]


Reviewer: sian22 (Signed)
11/02/14 - 07:10 pm
Chapter 1

Tarlo thank you so very much!  I am thrilled that you are enjoying it and appreciated so much your lovely reviews.  

[Report This]


Reviewer: Tarlo the Wanderer (Signed)
11/02/14 - 06:34 am
Chapter 3

Wow. So beautiful and sad. Made me tear up :)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Tarlo the Wanderer (Signed)
11/02/14 - 06:07 am
Chapter 2

:O She drank it!! Wow I love the tenseness and the pacing of this story! Well-written!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Tarlo the Wanderer (Signed)
11/02/14 - 05:51 am
Chapter 1

Uhoh! It's a scheming Saruman and a discontent Denethor!

[Report This]



You must login (register) to review.