Reviews For In Empty Lands

You must login (register) to review.


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
11/03/12 - 08:11 pm
Final Gathering

I love the way you lead from hobbit-mischief accomplished to a deeper and more serious conversation. Boromir continues to have his eyes opened in ways both large and small.

I'd love to have seen the expression of outrage on Frodo's face when accosted by a barrage of snowballs--and I think that he will pay his cousins back first, and take his time to get back at Aragorn.



Author's Response:

And I rejoice that you enjoyed this.  Yes, there is still much for Boromir to learn about his companions, and he is now aware that Aragorn has been seriously wounded in the past and yet thinks lightly about it, and that Aragorn is perhaps hopelessly in love with Elrond's daughter.

It's possible that Frodo just might try to get back at his cousins and Sam and later Aragorn, but perhaps he may decide that in this case what he got was well deserved.  We'll have to see where the muse leads the tale, I suppose.  But I, too, would have loved to see his face when the snowballs found him accurately!  (And I enjoyed the thought of three hunky Dunedain warriors bathing, of course!  I may be a senior citizen in the eyes of many, but there's life in me yet!  Heh!)

[Report This]


Reviewer: curiouswombat (Signed)
06/09/10 - 01:58 pm
An Encounter with the Ringbearer

I set this aside to read all through today - a day off work all to myself - and it has given me such pleasure.  Thank you so much for this story so far.



Author's Response:

Thank you so, CuriousWombat!  Am so glad you like it!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
05/02/10 - 08:18 pm
"Trust to Their Friendship"

O well done Larner! I love Elrond's thoughts here, especially " They must go with him.  They must go with him to help him keep his hold on himself as long as is possible against the call of the Ring.  And they must grow into the role they will play upon their return."

Lovely description of Elrond's musings, I think he's perfectly right! (And I'm so glad you enjoyed your little gift today! :) )



Author's Response:

Realizing how clannish Hobbits are is important at this point, and will definitely help give Frodo more reason to keep fighting the influence of the Ring!  And I do love your birthday mathom!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
04/25/10 - 08:52 pm
On Swords and Swordsmanship

O Larner, most satisfying indeed! I love this tale as far as it's gone, and I sincerely hope to see more soon. Peregrin's determination is absolutely wonderful...although my favorite part, I think, is Glorfindel's tale of where and when the blades were made. Of course he would know!

Kaylee



Author's Response:

After writing "Weaopns Forged," I had to write this one!  Heh!  And Pippin would be eager to learn this skill, I think.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
04/25/10 - 08:46 pm
The Prince of Mirkwood

An interesting interlude between Boromir, son of Denethor, and Legolas, son of Thranduil! I see Frodo has been found...and I love the Hobbits and their way with Bill!

Kaylee



Author's Response:

He's coming to know those with whom he will be traveling, at least.  Yes, Frodo has finally come out of hiding, and proved to Man and Elf both the capabilities of Hobbits to remain unseen.  And to realize that this pony was not deliberately mistreated I felt was important.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
04/25/10 - 08:35 pm
Bound to Teach Weaponry

I am so glad Boromir is going to help train the Hobbits. I daresay they will need it, and it is good of Bilbo to give Frodo Sting, he certainly needs that! Well done once again, Larner. I'm sorry to see I'm almost through with the fic as it stands...may I hope for more chapters soon?



Author's Response:

Oh, but this is proving an interesting fic to write, so will continue as I have time.  And I suspect that all the experienced fighters in the group would have sought to help the Hobbits learn how to use their weapons properly--after all, the safety of all is involved!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
04/25/10 - 08:22 pm
Breakfast Council

Well, Seven of the Nine Walkers have been now named, and the two last suggested. Now it only remains to convince Master Elrond...Well, we know he will be convinced!

I especially loved Gimli entrapping his father with Gloin's own arguments!

Kaylee



Author's Response:

Yes, the Fellowship is coming together at last.  And I think that Gimli would gladly use his father's own tactics against the old Dwarf when he could!  Heh!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
04/25/10 - 08:12 pm
A Conversation in the Dark

Ah, Mithrandir has counselled Boromir well here...it's a good thing that they will have many opportunities to speak further on the Quest. Well done! I think you have caught both their personalities, and Mithrandir's estimation of Denethor son of Ecthelion well. Just the type to throw a missive from Thorongil, his presumed rival for Ecthelion's paternal affections, into the flame!

Kaylee



Author's Response:

Am so glad you feel I caught them well.  I felt Boromir needed a conversation with the Wizard; and I do think that Aragorn would have wished to aid Finduilas as he could.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
04/25/10 - 08:02 pm
Of Games of Kings and Castles

I did love Bilbo and Boromir's conversation very much! I have to say, Bilbo's love for Frodo shines through, and it's interesting to see that snippet about Dora, Drogo and Dudo!

Just wondering...How old were they when their parents died, and how old are they in relation to each other and Bilbo and Frodo? (Well I know Drogo is Frodo's father, but how old was he when he married Primula and she had Frodo, that sort of thing.)

Sorry for asking so many questions! It's just I don't have my LotR and the websites I look for information at haven't been all that helpful...I'm writing birthday mathoms for my friends during May and I had an idea for one involving Dora, so help would be greatly appreciated!

Kaylee



Author's Response:

Bilbo was born in 1290 SR; Dora in 1302, Drogo in 1308, and Dudo in 1311.  We don't know when they married, but they had Frodo in 1368.  Primula was born in 1320, so she was considerably younger than Drogo.

The fostering of the three children of Fosco and Ruby is stictly my-verse, by the way.  It helps me feel that Bilbo would have taken the idea of raising Drogo's son to heart more if he'd already seen such fostering done.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
04/25/10 - 07:53 pm
Getting to Know You

The Pretender? Then maybe his respect for Aragorn hasn't grown as much as I thought...hmm...But the anecdotes told by the Hobbits were all amusing, except of course for Pearl being accused of killing Lalia. *hugs Pearl* I actually wrote a story dealing with the aftermath of that, although when I showed it to the author Pearl Took (after posting it) she said I'd gotten something in the chronology wrong. I can't remember what went wrong with it and I need to fix it...lol, look at me going on about my fic when this is meant to be for you! Sorry!

Anyway, as I was saying I feel very sorry indeed for Pearl. I also feel sorry for Boromir, envying Frodo his friendship with Aragorn. I know Boromir's estimation of Aragorn will grow and change of course!

Kaylee



Author's Response:

It's not easy for someome whose ancestors have served as ruling Stewards for a millenium to accept the claims of a stramger that may never have set foot in Gondor, or so I see it.  Until he proves himself, I'd think that Boromir might well have seen him thus.  Hobbits have a different set of priorities than this man has ever faced before, so this is definitely a time of learning for him.  Faramir noted that Boromir and Aragorn would not have come to the point of becoming rivals until they came into Gondor itself; there will definitely be time for these two to develop respect for one another's abilities and worthiness as they travel together.

Thanks so, Kaylee!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
04/25/10 - 07:43 pm
On Plans for Weapons

A third, indeed...and that third will not be Boromir, but Galadriel. The blood magic was interesting! I don't have my copy of LotR...it's been loaned to a friend for nearly a year...was the blood magic thing canon? Or the runes on the blade? I like how that was handled so very much, canon or no.

O poor Boromir, to have such thoughts already and when I know where it will eventually take him...*shivers*

Kaylee



Author's Response:

The blood magic is my invention, but there appear to have been runes on the blade; certainly the symbols of sun, moon, and star were on the blade when it was reforged.  It was supposed to have been originally wrought by Telchar, the greatest of the dwarf smiths in the history of Arda.  That those dwarves visiting Imladris would have an interest in seeing it as it was and aiding perhaps in the reforging just seems very likely.

Blood magic was often invoked in ancient times, so it seems likely that in reforging the sword the dwarves might seek to tie the blade to Aragorn's bloodline by using a bit of his blood in some point in either the forging or tempering of the sword.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
04/25/10 - 07:35 pm
Lessons in History

Ah, here Aragorn and Boromir's friendship and respect is kindled...I am glad to see that they have come to more of an understanding of each other! Wonderful, Larner!

Kaylee



Author's Response:

Yes, time to begin to appreciate one another! 

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
04/25/10 - 07:22 pm
Around the Corners

Ah...at last Boromir has seen Frodo, and Bilbo too, ere the council is to convene! Now to see how the Council works out...I am enjoying this so very much Larner. Boromir has become very real to me in this tale!

Kaylee



Author's Response:

I've written about everyone except Boromir for years--and now he's having his revenge!  Heh!  So glad you find him coming alive for you.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
04/25/10 - 07:19 pm
Folk out of Legend

And so Boromir meets three of our Hobbits, Gimli, and Legolas...save for the Ringbearer himself, his introduction to those others of the Nine Walkers is complete, for he already knows Gandalf...Mithrandir...whatever he wants to be called. *grin* I liked Boromir's thoughts and impressions on all of them!

Kaylee



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you do.  Yes, he's forming his first impressions of those he will travel alongside.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
04/25/10 - 07:12 pm
The Son of his Heart

"Finduilas' child" does he term Boromir? Not Denethor's? Yet Boromir is Denethor's son as well, unless there's something about Aragorn I don't know...*wry grin* Sorry, sorry, forget I made that suggestion, Arwen would kill me.

Seriously, Larner, it's good to see you showing us Aragorn's reactions to It and his interaction with Lord Elrond...his father, yet not, for he is Arwen's father. (I suppose "uncle" would do well enough, considering that Elrond is *that*, through...many, many generations. *grin*)

Kaylee



Author's Response:

There is still hurt there for Aragorn regarding the way Denethor rejected his friendship, I think.  And he would always consider Elrond his father, I think.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
04/25/10 - 07:06 pm
Well Met by Moonlight

Interesting...well, of course I know how Estel *grin* knows Boromir! Hmm, I wonder if Boromir remembers Thorongil at all?

I'm quite glad that Boromir and Faramir both survived the skirmish with the Witch King, because if they hadn't...well, they wouldn't be around for this story!

Kaylee



Author's Response:

The Battle of the Bridge of Osgilliath was the last battle the two brothers fought together; I was glad to have the chance to include mention of it here.  And I'm not certain how much Boromir remembers of that early in his childhood!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
04/25/10 - 06:55 pm
Be By Him

That's a long name, Larner! Meliangiloreth! But I'm glad she's attending to Boromir's need...as I am glad that Boromir attended to Faramir's need, though it wasn't necessarily what he, or Denethor, wanted. Gondor is the better for Faramir's remaining...and in the end, it is best that Faramir was the one who stayed!

Kaylee



Author's Response:

Meliangiloreth has been an ongoing character since I wrote Of Courtship Rituals and Wizards, in which Bilbo thought she was attracted to him.  I had to include her here, of course.  And the rest of this story came about because I had this chapter in mind!  Heh!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
04/25/10 - 06:43 pm
The Arrival

At last Boromir has reached the object of his first quest...now to see about how he fares in Rivendell, and how he will deal with the eight Companions he will be given for his next Quest!

Masterfully written!

Kaylee



Author's Response:

It has been a LONG trip!

I once tried a drabble about Boromir's arrival, and it didn't fly well at all.  There's just not room enough in a drabble to bring out the complex emotions of wondering whether or not he's truly arrived, much less whether or not he will be admitted!  This allowed me to write the rest of the story!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Kaylee Arafinwiel (Signed)
04/25/10 - 06:23 pm
Prologue

Ah...and so the Horn of Gondor is sounded for all to hear, and the Quest is begun! Poor Faramir, being left behind...but all must go as Eru wills. Well done Larner!

Kaylee



Author's Response:

And the game is afoot!

[Report This]



You must login (register) to review.