Reviews For The Shadow of War

You must login (register) to review.


Reviewer: curiouswombat (Signed)
07/28/15 - 04:19 pm
The Gift

I have just come back to read the last few chapters, for I had been caught up in other things and had, truth to tell, almost forgotten.

i am so glad that I remembered at last and returned, for this is such a fascinating story, so very well written, each strand woven so cleverly into the whole.

It seems almost churlish to pick out one or two characters from what is such an excellent ensemble piece - but I remember saying, in a comment to Grey in the Dark, that Minir would make an excellent detective inspector - but now i think he reminds me, too, of Martin Jensen's 'The King's Hounds' - which are some of my favourite stories.  And Seregon is such a real person, too, with his sudden realisation that the lie had almost become the man.  I found myself wishing him well.

Of course now I am curious about hostages impressions.... :)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/21/15 - 08:55 pm
The Gift

This is one of the best new stories I have read in a very long time.

I wrote an essay once on how to write a gapfiller adventure that would hold the reader's attention, and gave several examples from among my favorite authors and their stories.

If I was writing that essay today, I would include this story as a prime example. I do consider this story a gapfiller, because it takes place in the gaps of the Tale of Years, and not the main narrative.

I love your device of the historians. I think that this method of filling out the narrative is something Tolkien himself would appreciate!

Thank you for this tale it I will be one I will reread and enjoy often!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! Thanks also for all the reviews you've left along the way; I'm sorry I haven't responded to all of them, but I have appreciated them. I guess you're right in that it IS a gapfiller. I wrote it with the Tale of Years and the related appendices open permanently beside me, and tried all along to make it fit into the chronology as Tolkien provides it. Thankfully he provides us with a LOT of gaps, so I had quite a lot of freedom to invent entire wars and new cultures and peoples. :-)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/21/15 - 08:43 pm
Betwixt and Between

Pippin laughed. He knew that the happy chatter of a hobbit could cheer people up when they were anxious, but to change an enemy's heart and turn him away from evil deeds…? Oh no, he thought. That was for heroes of stories, not for hobbits like him.

I love this. Pippin's so close to the truth, but his own humility prevents him from taking that last step and admitting he, too, is a hero.

I do hope that Seregon (under whatever name he chooses) is able to make the life he envisions for himself. 

It would be fun if one day Pippin should see him again, though highly unlikely I know!



Author's Response:

I'm pleased to hear that liked the ending that I gave Seregon. I did wonder how people would react to it, given that he did indeed murder a comrade in cold blood, and would have killed Minir had Lainor not interrupted him. He is, quite literally, getting away with murder. But this is the ending that seemed to emerge naturally from the story as I wrote it.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/21/15 - 03:53 pm
The Game

This is a terrific bit of perspective, and a clever way to keep up the suspense, though the  reader knows the outcome <i>in gemeral</i>. 

We have known from from the outset Gondor will win: you never led us to believe otherwise, never labeled this AU. But we DO NOT know the details. Yes, our main canon heroes will go on to live long and prosper, but will they be hurt, or injured or endangered in the meanwhile? And we have no clue about the OCs. Will Seregon be able  to come to the right decision? Will Minir be all right? What about Lanier? 

Even this his late in the story, you still have me on edge about the outcome.

Brilliant!



Author's Response:

That's good to hear. I did worry a bit about whether there would be any real suspense in it, given that the overall outcome was clear from the start. (At least, I thought it was, but one or two reviewers on other sites seem to have been genuinely afraid that Aragorn or Faramir would be killed by the various assassins, and that Pippin would be killed by Seregon.) At least the OCs could prompt some genuine suspense over their survival. That absolutely was NOT my reason for including them... but now that I look back at it, I realise that it was a welcome side-effect of their inclusion.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/21/15 - 01:48 pm
Black Sails

I love the various historical sidelights in this chapter; so much is being revealed of your vision of Aragorn's reign!

 

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/21/15 - 08:13 am
One Night

I love differing POVs, and this chapter is so rich in them, beginning with the Umbarian "historian", who proves that it is not only the victor who gets to write history.

By far my favorite was the scene between Pippin and Seregon, and the one with Seregon which followed. Pippin's innocent and heartfelt eloquence, born of his generous spirit unknowingly saved his life. Every word he said was true, and the thing is, deny it to himself as he will, Seregon knows this. 

I also loved the scenes with Eowyn and Minir, each of them recieving comfort from someone they did not expect.

And the scenes with the assassin were very suspenseful. While I was certain that he'd be caught in time, just how well or ill the capture would go I was unsure until it happened. 

Terrific chapter.

PS. I noticed some of my reviews are still duplicating themselves. I don't know why!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/16/15 - 11:35 pm
Truth

Oh dear! Pip's gone off with Seregon. But he's a clever Pip, I have t to remember that; and an assassin rides with Aragorn; and the Corsairs are coming!

Oh my!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/16/15 - 11:35 pm
Truth

Oh dear! Pip's gone off with Seregon. But he's a clever Pip, I have t to remember that; and an assassin rides with Aragorn; and the Corsairs are coming!

Oh my!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/16/15 - 11:35 pm
Truth

Oh dear! Pip's gone off with Seregon. But he's a clever Pip, I have t to remember that; and an assassin rides with Aragorn; and the Corsairs are coming!

Oh my!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/16/15 - 11:19 pm
Shards

I had a hunch EowynWould get the chance to use her sword! I am so glad I was right!

Tthis was a terrific chapter.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/16/15 - 11:06 pm
The Token

I love the way you have managed to ratchet up the tension, refusing to allow the readers the respite earned by Aragorn's bold play to stop the war.

But things are getting more dangerous in Minas Tirith, and I wonder how the plot will be foiled now!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/16/15 - 10:47 pm
Hostages

Success with the clans of the East! 

Yet there are still unresolved issues at home.

i love Aragorn's diplomacy. Elrond taught him well.

 

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/16/15 - 10:33 pm
A Matter of Trust

Truth. 

A harsh mistress. And yet the truth has to be faced sooner or later. It is an excellent weapon, much better than lies, which can easily just umrave, while the truth remains.

 

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/16/15 - 10:09 pm
The Wain

Oh my! So this was the plan! 

How audacious it is! Wow! 

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/16/15 - 10:09 pm
The Wain

Oh my! So this was the plan! 

How audacious it is! Wow! 

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/16/15 - 09:52 pm
Intelligence

Oh, I'm glad Minir is alive!

and I am VERY glad Aragorn now has his own mithril shirt.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/11/15 - 06:12 am
Over

Over? Yes and no. I like the way you explore all the possible shades of meaning in the word throughout the chapter. 

i also like some of the other topics you explore in this chapter, especially terrorism and celebrity. They are very much subjects that have applicability to our "Real World" of today and yet you show this also can work in M-e.

i've often touched on how uncomfortable hobbits would have been with adulation in Gondor, and you show that they would not have been the only ones.

And the fear of an enemy among us, not far away, but someone who could attack at any time, at any place, with no regard for the "normal" conventions that non-combatants should be left alone: that's at the heart of terrorism.

Really a terrific chapter!



Author's Response:

Thanks! I never deliberately set out to explore real world topics, but when I read the story through afterwards, I was aware that they had crept in. I guess it's inevitable, really. Thanks for commenting!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/10/15 - 04:00 pm
The Mounds of the Dead

This chapter is so poignant and bittersweet. It's all about death, and how and why the dead are honored, from the "historical note" at the beginning to the mournful (literally ) at the end. 

Eomer shows his his greatness here, and not just as a mighty warrior, but by his insistence on doing the right thing when the wrong one would have been easier, by his humane treatment of the prisoner, and by his efforts to understand them. He has grown in wisdom since the days of the Ring War, but he's always had discernment.

Lovely writing as well, that captures the mood perfectly.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/10/15 - 03:39 pm
Links in a Chain

Goodness! Things are picking up momentum!

At least Merry and Pippin are with Minir.

Victory for Eomer...but perhaps not the victory they had hoped for.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/10/15 - 02:35 pm
Travellers in the Night

OK, I can't wait...

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/10/15 - 02:35 pm
Travellers in the Night

OK, I can't wait...

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/10/15 - 02:35 pm
Travellers in the Night

OK, I can't wait...

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/10/15 - 02:19 pm
Masks

Oh dear! Oh Pippin! He's trusting the wrong person! 

And Aragorn's going off to be Strider again.

This story is so intriguing!

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/10/15 - 01:56 pm
Midsummer

Such clever hobbits, our Merry and Pippin! Clever and curious and perceptive and above all, kind.

I don't know what I like best: the scene where they rescued Dairon and came up with their ruse, or Pippin's gorgeous scene with Arwen. His thoughts were so very much the generous soul I know. If Gandalf and Frodo could have seen him, they'd have been very proud of him!



Author's Response:

Thanks! I was pleasantly surprised by the scene between Pippin and Arwen, which came out of the blue. I was glad that it did, though! I really enjoyed writing Pippin throughout this story. For some reason, Merry had become my hobbit of choice when writing fourth age stories, and I suddenly realised that I'd only ever written Pippin for one or two short scenes. So I made a point of making Pippin, not Merry, my hobbit viewpoint character in this story.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Dreamflower (Signed)
06/10/15 - 01:34 pm
On the Trail

Oh dear, a cliffie! Good thing I don't have to worry about what happens next!

And yay! Merry and Pippin are doing exactly what I thought they would.

BTW, I love the "historical" notes; the one for this chapter was so slyly contrary to all the previous ones, LOL!

[Report This]



You must login (register) to review.