Reviews For Beyond the Sea

You must login (register) to review.


Reviewer: Oshun (Signed)
10/25/15 - 06:26 pm
Tol Eressea

I do love this story. It's true that it gets sadder and people feel more lost as it progresses. I know I read this chapter before, but apparently did not comment.



Author's Response:

I'm so happy you like it :)  There's more angst than is my norm (I start wanting to shake people after a while and tell them to get over themselves), but I've alwys thought it must have been a very difficult place to adjust to, even without other issues to deal with. 

[Report This]


Reviewer: sian22 (Signed)
08/24/15 - 10:18 am
Home

Lovely....that Erestor would find a place like this but I just love the naturallness of space and time and chuckled at the comment about Glorfindel making bad jokes.  The idea that not all would be comfortable in Tol Eressea seems so right now that I read of Gil's surprise.  



Author's Response:

I'm sorry I didn't respond to your lovely comment, I had it in my head that I was up to date over here *blush* Anyhow, I'm glad you liked the last chapter which is kind of the end of one stage of the story and setting up for the next. 'Up north' is very different to the life in Tirion or even on Tol Eressea but much more 'normal' for elves who lived their lives in Middle-earth - just the kind of place Gil would be likely to find.

Glorfindel is great at making terrible jokes btw. I think Erestor misses that lightness.

[Report This]


Reviewer: curiouswombat (Signed)
08/22/15 - 03:43 pm
Home

I'm so pleased to know there will be more of this. :)



Author's Response:

Oh blimey, I thought I'd responded to everything here :( Sorry, Wombat. I'll be getting back to it once I have Answers back under control and I'm looking forward to it - it's such fun to write.

[Report This]


Reviewer: sian22 (Signed)
08/11/15 - 08:57 pm
North

I just love the bantering and  dialogue..so matter of fact and un-Aman like in a way it makes me smile just reading it.  Queen Elwing just because she likes the title :) 

You bastard I need had a heart attack..great stuff



Author's Response:

Aww, I'm so sorry I took so long to thank you for the review. I'm glad you're enjoying the contrast to Tirion in the way they do things 'up north - and Erestor yelling at Gil (who deserved it!)' *g*.  And yes, Queen Elwing - she would, lol.

And I am overdue posting the next bit ... need to get to that later today. Thanks so much for reading and for letting me know you like the story.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Cassie Hughes (Signed)
07/29/15 - 04:42 pm
Arrival

I love this, the idea that not everything is automatically wonderful when they reach the Undying Lands. I sense a lot of angst coming up before Erestor finally feels as if he belongs there, if he ever does.



Author's Response:

That's a good point actually. No matter how this works out, I wonder how long it'll take the new arrivals to feel this really is their home. I've played with the idea of what it would be like to cross the sea to a strange land that somehow has to be 'home' for ages, and I've never been coninced the elves born in Middle-earth would necessarily fit seamlessly into a way of life that would be so unlike their own.  And yes, more angst. There is always more angst, lol! 

Thanks for the review, I'm really glad you're enjoying the story.

[Report This]


Reviewer: Himring (Signed)
07/29/15 - 04:06 pm
The King

Oh good--things get so much better when Gil arrives.

Those scenes in Tirion are really compelling--but it is such a relief that things don't just stop with that--at least for this reader!



Author's Response:

Things always get better when Gil arrive. Or at least there's not much chance of boredom, lol. The story was in fact meant to stop here, with his return, but the story decided to keep going - I couldnt imagine him living tamely in Tirion or something. Thanks for the reiew, I'm really happy you're liking it!

[Report This]


Reviewer: sian22 (Signed)
07/28/15 - 07:34 am
Arrival

This is so sad and so well written..thoughtful , reflective....I hope you write a sequel where we know what happened to erestor's family and his old flame.  Thank you for this!



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you're enjoying the story, Sian. And yes, there will be more after it takes a break at the end of chapter 9. I'm curious to lean more about everyone mysellf :)

[Report This]


Reviewer: Silver Trails (Anonymous)
07/10/15 - 11:47 am
Arrival

I have just discovered this story. You are one of the few persons who write long descriptions that I like to read. This is very nice, Keiliss.



Author's Response:

I'm never sure how far to go with the descriptions, but a lot of it is just me trying to picture the setting properly. I'm glad you like how I do it, that's a very nice thing to say. Happy you like the story so far, CC. Hope the rest also entertains :)

 

[Report This]


Reviewer: Oshun (Signed)
07/09/15 - 10:46 pm
Arrival

Oh, this is terrific. So moody that it becomes suspenseful. Erestor, Elrond, and Galadriel are like three lost souls. Dying to read more. Is it going to be long?



Author's Response:

Oh great, I'm so thrilled you like it, Oshun! I had a ball writing this. They are rather lost and out of place, aren't they? And it gets worse before it gets better, of course.

The whole story's written, though I just re-edited the final part and Red needs to check it. I wasn't sure about posting single chapters here so it's going up in three batches of three, the next lot will be early next week.

[Report This]



You must login (register) to review.